We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staybridge Suites - THE place to stay in Baton Rouge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4001 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Baton Rouge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Big D - Texas, of course
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Staybridge Suites - THE place to stay in Baton Rouge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Baton Rouge. The staff is friendly, and goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay at their hotel. The location is great, nestled on the edge of the beautiful LSU campus. Take the less-traveled back streets and avoid the perpetual gridlock of Interstate 10. Plenty of excellent local dining establishments nearby, and the staff will help you find one that will tickle your taste buds. Great town, great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for your review, Shadowsdaddy! We are so glad that Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge LSU serves as your home away from home when you visit Baton Rouge. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and offering our brand of southern hospitality, so we appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
13
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had to go to Baton Rouge on business and stay overnight Thursday. Not only around the corner from our son's condo, but just down the street from Alex Box Stadium and Tiger Stadium. So...great location. Really friendly at the check-in. Whole place was spotless. Looks like new. Suite was large, clean, and comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower. Went out for supper, but did avail myself of the free breakfast buffet. Bagels were fresh. Scrambled eggs were excellent. Sausage was a little mediocre. Really only kids' cereals. Hey, it was free! It filled me up through my busy morning. I'm reserving rooms NOW for my son's graduation in 2 years. Liked it that much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, RMZR1! We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our location close to LSU and that it suited your needs for you and your family. We look forward to your trip for graduation in 2015, but we hope to see you before then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First stay at Staybridge. Great location next to all sporting events at LSU. We were there for the state high school track meet. Perfect breakfast with all that we needed for the student athletes to start their day. Staff was courteous and rooms were clean and up to date with nice LCD tv's. Elevators were fast, which is one of my pet peeves at a busy place, which it was that weekend with Florida baseball in town. Kitchens had everything you needed if you plan on cooking or storing left overs from eating out

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your review, bnlsoram! We are glad you were able to benefit from our location and that you enjoyed our daily hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you back at our property again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed at this property for a business meeting and the staff was outstanding! They made me feel at home and really cared about me. Jackie, the desk clerk when I checked in, was great and even reserved my cab for 4:45 a.m. then called my room to let me know it was confirmed. Had a great time at Walk Ons, which is literally a minute from the hotel via a walkway. If you are in Baton Rouge on business, I would definitely recommend this property for quality, value, and friendliness. I would love to be here for an LSU football game!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, mikem18! It was our pleasure to assist you while you were in town and we look forward to your next visit to Baton Rouge - hopefully for a trip to Tiger Stadium!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We were booked at the Belle of Baton Rouge who we believed through booking.com were pet friendly they are not and are not very people friendly either. However, we found that Staybridge were both pet and people friendly, the guy who checked us in was welcoming and informed us that there was food and drinks on until 7.30 most welcome. The room was immaculate and unbelievably spacious. The free evening meal was not spectacular but you should never knock a free meal and the wine was very good. THis has been our first experience of Staybridge Suites and I can guarantee it will not be our last.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review, Tigerrew. We very much enjoyed having your family (and pet!) stop in on your way to New Orleans and hope that you enjoy the rest of your Southern tour! We would love to have you back at our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend get away and to see a LSU softball game. this is probably the 5th or 6th time we have stayed! never had a complaint! Nothing like have a view of Tiger Stadium from one window and Alex Box stadium in the other view! The gentleman (wish i had gotten his name) quickly checked us in and even called after we were settled in our room to make sure everything was ok. This hotel is within in walking distance to campus and the bball and softball fields. Not to mention Walk -ons next door. One change I noticed was a dry erase board in the lobby that had updated information and menus for local attractions. Being Easter weekend this helped us know what was near and open for Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish, Amanda H! We pride ourselves on offering great service for our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts. We hope to see you for another game this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed in Baton Rouge for the Super Bowl. The cost difference between the hotels in New Orleans and Baton Rouge justified making the 1hr commute into NOLA.
Unbelievable Service - We arrived early for check-in, but luckily they had our room ready. During the check-in we were talking with Jaclynn about staying here for the big game. So we asked where we should go, eat, and must do experiences while we were in NOLA. She started to recite all various POI"s, and then in our conversation I mentioned that Verizon boulevard had the same food trucks as Jazz-fest. She stopped herself and told us to go get settled, and when we came back down she would have it all written out for us.
It was a full sheet of note paper of what to eat, where to get NOLA infamous drinks, and other must do activities. My wife and I carried that paper around with us, and her advice was so very helpful. From trying the Cochon Po-Boys to the Crawfish Beignets, and all the way to the Hurricane we enjoyed at Pat O'briens. Thank you so much for your advice, it really enhanced our experience.

The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and in great shape. The breakfast is really good as well. If I was attending an event at LSU this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We were glad to enhance your Super Bowl experience with some local flair and that you enjoyed our property. We hope to see you again for an LSU game at Tiger Stadium, an experience that we think rivals any other sporting event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Address: 4001 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baton Rouge
#9 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#11 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest hotel to LSU's campus - perfect for parents visiting their LSU students, fans attending LSU Athletic Events, or a weekend getaway to Baton Rouge! We are within 5 miles of L'Auberge Baton Rouge Casino, the newest casino in Baton Rouge, and within 3 miles of downtown Baton Rouge. We offer a free hot buffet breakfast daily and a light dinner with beer and wine Tuesday-Thursday nights. Full kitchens in all of our suites complete with full size refrigerator/freezers, 2 burner stoves, dishwashers, and microwaves. Free wi-fi, gym, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate Hotel Baton Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.