We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4001 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fareham
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We were booked at the Belle of Baton Rouge who we believed through booking.com were pet friendly they are not and are not very people friendly either. However, we found that Staybridge were both pet and people friendly, the guy who checked us in was welcoming and informed us that there was food and drinks on until 7.30 most welcome. The room was immaculate and unbelievably spacious. The free evening meal was not spectacular but you should never knock a free meal and the wine was very good. THis has been our first experience of Staybridge Suites and I can guarantee it will not be our last.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review, Tigerrew. We very much enjoyed having your family (and pet!) stop in on your way to New Orleans and hope that you enjoy the rest of your Southern tour! We would love to have you back at our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
13
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend get away and to see a LSU softball game. this is probably the 5th or 6th time we have stayed! never had a complaint! Nothing like have a view of Tiger Stadium from one window and Alex Box stadium in the other view! The gentleman (wish i had gotten his name) quickly checked us in and even called after we were settled in our room to make sure everything was ok. This hotel is within in walking distance to campus and the bball and softball fields. Not to mention Walk -ons next door. One change I noticed was a dry erase board in the lobby that had updated information and menus for local attractions. Being Easter weekend this helped us know what was near and open for Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish, Amanda H! We pride ourselves on offering great service for our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts. We hope to see you for another game this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed in Baton Rouge for the Super Bowl. The cost difference between the hotels in New Orleans and Baton Rouge justified making the 1hr commute into NOLA.
Unbelievable Service - We arrived early for check-in, but luckily they had our room ready. During the check-in we were talking with Jaclynn about staying here for the big game. So we asked where we should go, eat, and must do experiences while we were in NOLA. She started to recite all various POI"s, and then in our conversation I mentioned that Verizon boulevard had the same food trucks as Jazz-fest. She stopped herself and told us to go get settled, and when we came back down she would have it all written out for us.
It was a full sheet of note paper of what to eat, where to get NOLA infamous drinks, and other must do activities. My wife and I carried that paper around with us, and her advice was so very helpful. From trying the Cochon Po-Boys to the Crawfish Beignets, and all the way to the Hurricane we enjoyed at Pat O'briens. Thank you so much for your advice, it really enhanced our experience.

The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and in great shape. The breakfast is really good as well. If I was attending an event at LSU this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We were glad to enhance your Super Bowl experience with some local flair and that you enjoyed our property. We hope to see you again for an LSU game at Tiger Stadium, an experience that we think rivals any other sporting event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first experience at a Staybridge Suites and it was excellent. This hotel is new, rooms were clean, the staff was very nice. The restaurant is on the second floor - not the most attractive view of the swamps and railroad tracks, but at least it had windows on 3 sides and was very bright. After the breakfast crowd cleared out, the room remained open and I was able to work from there for a couple of hours in silence with good WiFi access. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My co-worker had a room on the railroad side and said the trains woke him up a couple of times. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and that you were able to take advantage of the quiet space of our Great Room after breakfast to do your work. Please let us know the next time you are coming to town and we will be happy to accommodate you in one of our corner suites with a great view of LSU's campus if available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love Staybridge Suites hotels and this one ranks with the best of the best! We had a king suite with a separate bedroom. The entire property was immaculate, staff uniformly pleasant and extremely helpful. (Especially Jackie at the front desk who worked long hours over Christmas without apparent complaint.) The hot daily breakfast was very good and the afternoon socials were great. We actually made a meal of the burgers, salad and Abita beer one evening. I have to mention the elevators.....lightening fast. Fabulous! We will DEFINITELY be back next year. We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott last year and hated the place. Snotty front desk people, overpriced food, no refrigerator even though I had requested it way in advance AND the hotel had very low occupancy while we were there. AVOID!

Room Tip: Very long corridors which cannot be accessed except from the lobby. Ask for room near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and positive feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcomed during your time away from home. We'll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Check in was quick and the staff was attentive. I received a call shortly after arriving in my room from the desk to ensure everything was as expected. Breakfast was as expected and ok. I would recommend this hotel if you are attending anything LSU

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property! We'll see you on your next visit to Baton Rouge/LSU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

room was as expected-- clean & comfy. A/C worked. enough variety for breakfast. liked bag to go breakfast option. weekday social was nice idea but few actually socialize. free laundry. exercise room small but adequate. great staff very helpful with messed up reservation that wasn't their fault.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer. We suggest taking advantage of Definitions Gym next door on your next visit - full service gym within walking distance and short term guests can work out for free with their room key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Address: 4001 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Baton Rouge
#7 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#9 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest hotel to LSU's campus - perfect for parents visiting their LSU students, fans attending LSU Athletic Events, or a weekend getaway to Baton Rouge! We are within 5 miles of L'Auberge Baton Rouge Casino, the newest casino in Baton Rouge, and within 3 miles of downtown Baton Rouge. We offer a free hot buffet breakfast daily and a light dinner with beer and wine Tuesday-Thursday nights. Full kitchens in all of our suites complete with full size refrigerator/freezers, 2 burner stoves, dishwashers, and microwaves. Free wi-fi, gym, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate Hotel Baton Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.