We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not the best and below average customer service....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4848 Constitution Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
“Certainly not the best and below average customer service....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here recently overnight due to an early morning appointment with a specialist for my daughter. Maybe I am used to above average Holiday Inn Hotels and that is why I wasn't impressed. Average looking Holiday Inn from the exterior. We arrived early evening. I asked for an upgrade since I am a AAA member. I was almost certain that I would get it because the parking lot was empty and it appeared as thought the hotel was fairly empty. I was told that there were no upgrade rooms available. No problem. I asked for a non-smoking room. The room may have been non-smoking, but it smelled like smoke upon entering. We decided to just tolerate it until whoever was in the room next to us decided to chain smoke and the smell coming through the walls was unbearable. We went down and asked to be put into another room. We were moved to another floor that looked like a construction zone. There was no noise, but it was not appealing to the eye. As a new hotel, I was mighty surprised to see that there was already remodeling going on. After settling in our room, we walked down to Sporting News, the restaurant in the hotel. It was average sports bar food. We checked out fairly early and went on to our doctor's appointment. We live an hour away and I realized once we got home that I left my computer charger in the room. I called the hotel and spoke to someone in housekeeping who told me that he could mail it back to me. I was grateful. He asked how I wanted him to send it. I told him the least expensive method. I only live an hour away and figured it wouldn't be that expensive, otherwise I could just go pick it up. I told him not to spend more than $20 on shipping. He told met that he would call me back because he was going to use the credit card on file for the shipping charge. I never got a call back. I called the next day and left a message. A lady from housekeeping called me back and told me she was shipping it FedEx. I received the cord 2-3 days later. Several days later I got a bill from FedEx for almost $30. THIRTY BUCKS to ship something that I could have put ten dollars worth of gas and been there and back in less than 2 hours? That was a little extreme. I tried to call the manager several times and I finally got a call back. Her response to all of this,"I will refund your credit card on file $10." I almost felt mocked. I would stay here again only if I had too. The room was comfortable and a standard Holiday Inn, but certainly not the over the top service that I am used to when I stay at the new Holiday Inn hotels!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
24
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this locations for about 2 weeks 4 years ago and loved it. During my travel from Florida to Tucson is was the perfect place to stop during the trip. Just as it was 4 years ago the staff was top notch, Sporting News grill is a great place to unwind after a long days drive, and the property is immaculate. Stay here if you ever get a chance!

Room Tip: I've stayed in a couple different ones now, both were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelania C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
The team here at Holiday Inn is so glad that you came back to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay while passing through. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our Sporting News Grill and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very clean hotel. Nice workout area and attached restaurant/bar.

Rooms are always spotless, quiet and the staff is courteous and helpful.

Breakfast is so,so but no worse than at any of the other "free breakfast" hotels.

I have found this to be an excellent place to stay when I am in Baton Rouge on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelania C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us every time you are in Baton Rouge. We appreciate all of your kind words about our property and look forward to having the opportunity to provide you with outstanding service in the future.

Lelania Clarkson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I arrived at the hotel in the evening on a Saturday night. I had reserved a room with two double beds since it was two males sharing this room. Upon arrival I was told all they had was a king size. I said it was unacceptible. I requested a roll away and went on about my business. Hours later I returned to the room without a roll away. I inquired at the front desk and they didn't have a clue of what I was talking about. I again requested a roll away. couple of hours later returned to the without a roll away. Again I go to the front desk, they don't have a clue. I finally told them to tell me the truth that they didn't have a roll away!. They didn't. One hand never knew what the other hand was doing! I slept on a chair that night. They did not charge me for the room that night. It took 4 months to get my priority points promised by the manger and repeated e-mails. They ran oput of food in the resturant. I was not a happy camper. Total lack of communication on the front desk and management! When I asked for the manager that night he was no where to be found!

Room Tip: don't arrive late in the day on a weekend because they will give your room away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed only one night. The room was nice and the pillows were great, the bed was comfortable. The room was clean. No complaints with the hotel. The free buffet was decent but sometimes they were a little over the top with stopping by the table to check on you but I guess its better than being ignored. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelania C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your one night stay in Baton Rouge. We just wish you could have stayed longer! Should you pass through Baton Rouge again do not hesitate to contact us for your reservations!

Lelania Clarkson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

No complaints. It's a nice hotel. The rates are exactly what I expected to pay. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. I don't know what was going on in Baton Rouge when I stayed here, but the motel was full (as were the other motels) and parking places were scarce. They have a restaurant, but I didn't try it. I got in too late and left too early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the 4th time i have stayed at this holiday inn for a LSU game. The location is great, right off the interstate and just a few miles from campus. The staff offers speedy service while checking in. The rooms are in excellent shape... not so much as a thread out of place! My only problem was the service at the sports bar and grill in the lobby. By the time the game was over, we made it through traffic, unloaded the car and got checked in... well we only had 20 minutes to sit down and order before they closed. We waited over 20 minutes just for our drinks... and we only ordered water... finally received our food which was just light appetizers. I personally think they should re-organize a work schedule for game day saturdays. Of course the sports grill would never deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive

Address: 4848 Constitution Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baton Rouge
#14 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge, the newest hotel in the area, enjoys the premier hotel location in Baton Rouge. Situated with direct access to I-10 at College Dr. and Constitution Ave., the hotel is conveniently located to shopping, dining and local attractions and corporate headquarters. Business travelers appreciate the hotel s proximity of the Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge to Shell Oil, Exxon Mobil, Shaw Group, and Dow Chemical. The hotel is also within minutes of several renowned medical facilities such as Mary Byrd Perkins Center, Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Baton Rouge General, Pennington Biomedical Research Center and Ochsner Health System. The River Center is a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Leisure guests will find the Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge the perfect base for exploring local attractions such as Louisiana State University (LSU), USS Kidd, Southern University (SU), the Blue Bayou Waterpark and Dixie Landin . Shoppers will love visiting The Mall of Louisiana, Perkins Rowe, Tanger Outlets, and Towne Center. A day trip to New Orleans and the French Quarter entertainment is a quick trip down I-10. The hotel features a business center, free wireless Internet, a 24 hour health club, and Sporting News Grill. Each guest room features 37 LCD televisions with high tech audio video and MP3 capability. Relax in our tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge s College Drive Hotel Baton Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.