We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat/mouse trap under the bed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 Revillo Rd, I64 Exit 94, Winchester, KY 40391   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Winchester
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rat/mouse trap under the bed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before and the hotel was marginal. This trip I found a trap at the head of the bed on the floor. All hotels in the area sold out or I would not have stayed here. Beware of this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear mhdurden,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    12
    16
    15
See reviews for
15
15
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Daniel Boone National Forest, specifically the Red River Gorge Geological Area and Natural Bridge State Park. A pretty generic Holiday Inn Express. Nothing special stands out positively. One complaint was the very weak WI-FI signal that pretty much shut down at 10 PM each night of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear NCLoggerheads,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.
Though I would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, I would like to thank you for providing your feedback. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown, ky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The clerk walk in happy-go-lucky without knocking. We have stayed at this motel a lot in the past. We have had problems with the maids knocking on the door too earily before we checked out. But never have we ever had someone walk in with out knocking. My boyfriend was checking out, I was still in bed when the clerk just bouces in to see if room was ready. That will be our last time staying there. That was totally uncalled for. very unsatified....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
linda s,

Thank you for your recent stay, and feedback. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the service received. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just stayed here the last 2 nights.

We were happy with the clean beds (whew, always a concern when travelling with kids!) and the breakfast. Lots to choose from at the breakfast including fresh-made pancakes. Love the cinnamon rolls too.

Otherwise, it's a tired hotel that needs a bunch of TLC.

The faucet in the tub was on the fritz; by the time my husband showered before we left, we couldn't even get it on! And, the towel rack was ready to fall off the wall.

The A/C did NOT blow cold air. When I mentioned it upon checkout, the manager never apologized, but rather offered a suggestion of using the fan instead of the A/C because it wasn't very hot out. The response was more than disappointing.

The beds were very soft; both my husband and I woke up with stiff backs.

The pool itself was nice, but the area around the pool was dirty, especially the "drain track" (completely gross!).

The carpet in the hallways is filthy!

Thankfully the price wasn't too bad, or else I'd have found another place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
beckirb,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service and accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, KY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was my family's third stay at this particular HIE. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean BUT the hotel is not being properly maintained. There were all sorts of badly filled screw holes in the bathroom walls. They were using some sort of bracket to hold up the the towel bar. The repair job there was just plain crappy. The plate covering the light switches was at an angle and you could see the patch job around it. Everywhere they patched was painted over. It shows a lack of pride in ownership by the franchisee.

The best part of the stay was the pool.

If you are visiting Winchester there are not many good choices. You either stay at the other highly rated national chain, find a room in Lexington or stay here. You make the choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Spiritky,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Winchester. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
258 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I arrived early afternoon , early check in was not a problem ...lady at front desk was very freindly...descent price ($89.00)..large parking lot just a short walk from hotel for truck parking...room was clean,bathroom / shower could have been a little cleaner but I have saw worse..good water pressure and hot water heater/ AC was quiet.carpet and walls were pretty good shape but ceiling could stand a new coat of paint...sheets and pillows clean and smelled good but matress was firmer than I like and had some sort of a plastic cover between matress and sheets...noisy and not very comfy...all in all it was OK but not as nice as most other Holiday Inn Express' Ive stayed in but people were really nice and this place is 100 times better than the BestWestern that is down the street!...i would stay here again but like I say its not quite up to the expectations of the name..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear teamster175,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had a pleasant experience with our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry your room conditions fell below your expectations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were returning from a business trip to Philadelphia and thought this would be a good place to stop and break up a 15 hour drive. We should have kept driving. This was an older motel that had some new "make-up" added to it some time in the past. I could not believe how sloppy the workmanship was and that the hotel management approved it (see pictures). The cleaning staff also needs to learn to move some of the furniture and vacuum behind it (see pictures).

Room Tip: Room 114 was right next to the service laundry. First thing in the morning we were greeted by the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester

Address: 5250 Revillo Rd, I64 Exit 94, Winchester, KY 40391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Winchester is located in the Bluegrass Region of the Commonwealth, in a great position for everything the Greater Lexington Area has to offer. We are minutes from Bluegrass Airport, University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Kentucky Horse Park, Deer Run Stables, Lexmark International, Toyota, Shaker Village, and the Bluegrass Heritage Museum. Our hotel is a 58 room facility located off I-64. Restaurants are located within one mile of the hotel. Our hotel has 58 rooms, interior corridor with elevator. Indoor heated pool, fitness center, complimentary hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.