We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, non-chain roadside inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Inn and Museum

Save Saved
You added Cumberland Inn and Museum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumberland Inn and Museum
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   649 South 10th Street, Williamsburg, KY 40769   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Williamsburg
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, non-chain roadside inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This turned out to be a great choice, as we wanted an overnight room that was close to Cumberland Falls and not your typical bland, impersonal highway lodging. The inn was very attractive, clean, and comfortable...and less than 30 minutes from the falls. We were not impressed with the breakfast but everything else was first class. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. I will evaluate for opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input. We hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
40
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel and museum location was awesome. The staff was friendly, the pool great, the museum quick and fun to see. But most importantly, the bed and linens were fantastic ! Pet friendly inn as well with a great set up (doors that led from the room directly outside) .

Room Tip: Incredible bed and linens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our staff and hotel. It means a lot to hear feedback when we do well. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just a few words to describe it: magnificent, regal, stately, stunning. We stood in the lobby, hot, sweaty, and dusty from riding over 300 miles in 100 degree heat on our Harleys. We were frozen in time! All of us just mouthed OMG! The desk guy was in suit & tie and so sweet and cute! Totally respectful given we really looked bad! When we finally tumbled into our Two and a half room suite with a fully stocked (plates, silver, glasses, etc) kitchenette, dinette, and fireplace in living room, well, we were in heaven! We chose the Derby Suite and at $135, it was a steal.
The morning breakfast was exceptional and you eat in a main dining room, all sports bar like, really neat, a departure from other hotels breakfast areas. Time didn’t allow us to get to see the attached Cumberland Inn Museum, but heard it was wonderful.
Granted it’s right off the freeway and not exactly a scenic area, but we walked around, and ate supper at a really nice Mexican restaurant. Keep in mind it is a dry country and although the restaurant had alcohol, you can’t buy it retail. Luckily, we always carry a mini bar with us, just for these cases!! We will return!

Room Tip: Go with the suites, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Excellent!!! Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are excited to be able to make your stay enjoyable. We hope you ladies get to come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Cumberland Inn was a very lovely stop for my family and me on our way north. It was easily accessible from the highway, and the whole building was beautiful, inside and out. The staff, mainly comprised of college students from the nearby university, were friendly and competent. The room was an excellent value. The one complaint I had was an odd smell when we first entered the room, but it was not strong and I forgot about it after a few minutes. The beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice and well-supplied, and we very much enjoyed having a restaurant in the same building. We would probably stay here again if we got the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your business and hope to see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family and I were so pleased with our choice to stay at this Inn. Our rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The available amenities including a flat screen TV in each room are all that any traveler could ever want. Their plush large bath towels, comfortable pillows and bedding made our stay so enjoyable. The employees were professional, friendly and helpful. Grounds are well maintained and clean. The Patriot, their restaurant, is a must. Food is excellent. You will not be disappointed with one of their deliciously seasoned steaks. Their complimentary breakfast is a variety of hot breakfast items which are well prepared and tasty. The Cumberland Inn will always be our preferred choice of accommodations any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed in the Inn for a family reunion. Three night stay. The Inn is beautiful. Super clean and worth every penny spent. Small discount if you call in your room instead of using the internet. Pool is a decent size. Breakfast is a nonstop chore for the employee working it as the food goes quickly. The Patriot serves good food at a good price. Employees are very nice and helpful. The museum is mostly taxidermy. All types of animals not just the animals from the local forests. If given the opportunity we will say there again. For the price difference go for a suite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are so happy that you had a "Happy Founders’ Suite Stay" we love that comment. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nicest place around here. We normally vacation in the orlando Fl. area, so we're spoiled by very nice hotels....we saw some really old crapholes around, but luckily settled here....great modern rooms, beautiful decor and proffesional student-staff.....About 30 bucks more per night but worth every penny.....most hotels include a free breakfast that's a total joke. The breakfast here was incredible, biscuits/gravy, eggs, sausage...actually a real breakfast. You wont be sorry here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our students. We are excited to be able to make your stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cumberland Inn and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Inn and Museum

Address: 649 South 10th Street, Williamsburg, KY 40769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumberland Inn and Museum 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cumberland Inn and Museum, located along Interstate 75 in Williamsburg, Kentucky. Whether you are enjoying a savory meal or relaxing in a comfortable room, our goal is to provide you, our guest, with the most enjoyable experience possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cumberland Inn and Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Inn And Museum Hotel Williamsburg
Cumberland Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Inn and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.