We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah front desk clerk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Highway 92 W, Williamsburg, KY 40769   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Williamsburg
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Blah front desk clerk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at hundreds of Hampton Inn's across the country. My father and I were on our way home from an emergency trip to the Outter Banks and had just driven 14 hours through a terrible snow storm in the Smokey Mountains. I was shaking and beyond stressed. When I arrived at the front desk to inquire about a room, I felt like Shawn, the front desk clerk, was looking at me like I was crazy. I kept trying to get him to at least say something nice by saying things to him like "Whew, that was a terrible storm in the mountains", or "I'm still shaking after that drive". He would just look at me and made no effort to make me feel better.

I am by no stretch a big baby but I always get great service and am made to feel welcome at any Hampton Inn I stay at. It was almost like I was trying to give this fella every chance to be nice. So I just figured he was having a bad night or that's just his personality.

I went to my room and came back down for a hot coffee. A large rush of travelers started to filter through and check in. He was over the top nice to every single one of them. At that point, I was just annoyed.

The room was great, comfortable, clean and everything you would expect a HI to be. My father had accidentally left his sweatshirt in the lobby while we were getting the coffee the night before and when we inquired at the desk the next morning the woman said that Shawn had not logged a found sweatshirt but she would go look just to make sure. She did find it but.... it was just one more thing that he did to irritate me.

Shawn... it was you, not me. Don't be so blah to your guests.

Room Tip: Good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I am glad that you made it through that storm safely. It was a bad one for sure. I am so sorry that you were mistreated by our front desk team member and thank you for letting me know. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and that your fathers sweatshirt was found.
I can promise you that on your next visit to the area you will be treated with full "Hamptonality"
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we wish you a Happy New Year.
Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    42
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
47
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here unexpectedly during a bad snow storm that prevented me from traveling to my original destination. Many people were getting off the highway for the night due to bad weather. The guy at the front desk was very accommodating considering the large crowd that was developing in the lobby. After the "rush", I even got a phone call in my room to make sure everything was fine. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. It was a very relaxing place to stay after a stressful drive!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Good morning! I glad that you made it here safely. I am pleased to see that you were enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn Williamsburg KY. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again when you come to this area.
Thank you and Happy New Year.
Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Florida. The hotel staff was very friendly and the beds were very comfortable. The duvets were fabulous. I was a little disconcerted when we saw sticky notes on the bed with the comment, "Duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival." I thought they were suppose to be clean! The room was clean except or crumbs along the wall under the windows. The bathroom was immaculate. We had requested a quiet room, which it was until about 8:30 p.m. At that point the people in the room next to us starting yelling and hitting the walls as though they were wrestling. The children were running up and down the halls. When this contined, we finally called the desk at 10:00. It was quiet shortly after that. The walls are thin and you can clearly hear people peaking in the halls. My primary complaint is the fact that there were no tongs available at breakfast with which to serve yourself bagels and pastries. The woman in front of me requested them and was told "we don't use them here". When I asked for tongs, I was told "We don't need them. People just take the one they want." A few minutes later I observed a young woman licking her fingers. She then went over to the bagels, picked one up and then put it down and chose something else . We were out of there pretty quickly and skipped the rest of our breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I would like to start off by thanking you for choosing to stay with us, and than apologize for the response of the request for the tongs. We most defianately use tongs, I wish that I knew why they had given you that awful answer but I do not. I would like to thank you for this information and if you could let me know what nights you stayed so I can find out and fix this issue.
Again thank you for choosing to stay with us and I can promise you that on your next visit to the area we will make your stay wonderful.

Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent the night on our way to Gatlinburg. Convenient to highway, Walmart is across the street if you need anything, the hotel looks really new, high ceilings and modern decor. We had a king room with a pullout sofa, huge bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets were amazingly soft! We arrived late at night and there was still coffee, tea and cookies waiting for us in the lobby. Breakfast buffet was delicious with a wide variety of choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Hotel seemed solid and even the first floor had high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Williamsburg. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed you visit and we hope hope to see you on your next trip to the area. Have a great new year.
Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed in 4 Hampton Inns in the last couple of weeks. We are blue card members. All were easy access from the highway. Only one (Williamsburg, KY) had a microwave and refrigerator. All had great towels and bedding. The covers that are used over the duvets are washed after every guest. Nice. Amenties include shampoo, conditioner, lotion and 2 soaps. Coffee maker. Desk area, flat screen TV. Some had USA TODAY and others didn't. As a reward member, we received bottled water. One gave oreo cookies...the one in Lexington, KY - hot chocolate cookies...awesome. Breakfast at each were amble. All were very clean.

Ate at the Cumberland Inn - Patriot Restaurant. Good

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway or near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Williamsburg KY. We hope to have you as a guest again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I picked the Hampton based on traveler reviews and was not disappointed. We got there early after a 9 hour drive and the front desk could not have been more helpful in checking us in and giving us a room. The rooms was large, very clean, and had very comfortable beds. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower and plenty of counter room.

I had forgot a couple essentials and the front desk manager gave me a razor for my husband and a tooth brush. The other things we neglected to bring we walked across the street to Walmart which was very convenient.

Breakfast was delicious. It was hot and cold with wonderful waffles you could make yourself.

All in all the staff was terrific, courteous, and very helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The non smoking in the back of the hotel are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip with your friends!! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next visit to the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great staff, check in, and room. New room design should be pushed to all the other properties. Very good flow, awesome bathroom. Staff was quick and courteous, complimentary breakfast was good, nice surroundings. Quiet, perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy Jo C, Manager at Hampton Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am pleased to see that you folks enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!

Tammy Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Williamsburg

Address: 530 Highway 92 W, Williamsburg, KY 40769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.