We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn
Save
You added 1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn to your Saves list
233 Rose Hill, Versailles, KY 40383   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Versailles B&B and Inns
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

The Inn is in town within walking distance of a restaurant. You can choose a full sit-down meal or "grab a sandwich or pizza.
The Inn keepers are very gracious. They treated us as if we were family. The Inn is a fabulous setting. My wife and I are planning to go back next year. There are many Inns and motels that are cheaper in the surrounding area. But the rooms at most of them are not as "authentic". We cannot detail in so many words the atmosphere of the Inn. Prices are worth it. We both had a memorable time just relaxing and sitting around the Inn. We highly recommend that you stay at the Rose Hill Inn any time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We recently stayed at Rose Hill while taking the KY Bourbon Tour. The room was as comfortable as staying in the home of a good friend. But better amenities for guests. :)The owners are warm and inviting and breakfast was excellent. We later stayed at another B&B in Bardstown with a very different "hotel" like atmosphere. We appreciated Rose Hill even more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful old house. The owners were very accommodating and we able to stay here with our six year old daughter. The home was nicely furnsihed with antiques and very tastefully done. We enjoyed learning about the history of the home and area from Alder. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. We had a nice and quiet and peaceful stay. We would highly recommend staying here and we will stay here next time we pass through the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Rose Hill Inn for 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend while attending a family reunion. We have stayed in approximately 12 B and B's over the past few years and must say that the breakfast served and our room at this fine Inn were among the best we have experienced. We stayed in the Terrell Room on the main floor and found it to be quite comfortable and quiet. Alder and Gill as well as their bulldog were such nice hosts and very accommodating. We asked for an earlier than normal breakfast on our last morning as we had a long drive home and were served a full breakfast in the dining room before any of the other guests. We will be staying here again next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I visited Lexington on my own with my dog for relaxation and to de-stress. The Rose Hill Inn is by far my favorite B&B, and I have visited a lot in this country! It is so quaint and beautiful and Victorian in design. Alder and Gill were the most gracious hosts and breakfast was fantastic. My room (Auntie's Attic) was absolutely perfect! Beautifully decorated, full sitting room and a very large bath with corner jacuzzi tub.... with outstanding views! Also very convenient to the lovely horse farms. I will definitely stay here next time I visit Lexington.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful Inn several times while we were building our home in Versailles, and it was such a comfort to know we could find a comfortable bed and yummy breakfast here. Alder and Gill are a joy to be around, and great hosts! Very pleasant and civilized environment...great deal, too!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed in Miss Lucie's Room - absolutely wonderful!

House is filled with amazing history - which you can see & feel in it's architecture & craftsmanship, including the original hardwood floors & stained glass windows

Alder & Gill are exceptionally gracious hosts

  • Liked — Historic Charm
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn

Address: 233 Rose Hill, Versailles, KY 40383
Location: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as Kentucky's Best B&B for 2005 by readers of Kentucky Monthly, Rose Hill Inn offers guests elegant yet comfortable surroundings in a historic setting. Guest rooms have a queen or king bed, with private bath, some whirlpools. "Best Breakfast in the Southeast" (also awarded this year) served in the dining room! Enjoy walking on the 3 acre property visiting the flower, water and shade gardens, or petting our golden retriever, goat and miniature donkey! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1823 Historic Rose Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.