We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour and tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Reserve Distillery

Woodford Reserve Distillery
7855 McCracken Pike, Versailles, KY 40383
859-879-1812
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Versailles
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bourbon distillery
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tour and tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful drive through the horse farms to Woodford Distillery. We participated in a tour of the grounds and the distillery itself. The tour was not too long and was very informative. We were there in the month of November and paid for a Thanksgiving dinner. The food was turkey and dressing of course but with Southern touches on preparation and the side dishes reflect the southern selections. They had a nice area to purchase Woodford Reserve bourbon and other items.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    111
    29
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Best of the Kentucky Distillery Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This distillery is located in horse farm country, very near Frankfort and Lexington. Its reception area is modern and is end point of a tour that was the most informative my wife and I experienced when we recently visited the Bourbon Trail.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Most organized tour on KBT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the most organized and most informative tour on the KBT. Nice gift shop. Be sure to get a bag of the carmel candy, plain and the one's with marshmallow centers. Nice snack bar in visitor center. Very professional tour guide who provided lots of information.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must do, even if you don't like bourbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved this tour! My boyfriend loves Woodford Bourbon so this was my Valentine's Day present to him. The tour is resonably priced at 7$ which includes a free shot to try at the end. The grounds are beautiful and the historic buildings are charming. The walking is minimal but you are able to see every aspect of the bourbon making process. I recommend going when its warm because a decent portion of the tour is spend outside. The gift shop is fairly well stocked considering how small the company is and its a great place to get a gift for a bourbon fan. We had such a great time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“If you can't get a tour, its basically a cattle call”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So tickets to the tour go fast and early. If you can't get a tour they usher you in to a big room with a woman pouring shots in one corner. No explanation, nothing, just hands you a shot, tells you that you only get one, and points out the bourbon balls in a nearby table. So not very impressed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodford Reserve Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Woodford Reserve Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Reserve Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.