We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Bourbon Trail!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Reserve Distillery

Woodford Reserve Distillery
7855 McCracken Pike, Versailles, KY 40383
859-879-1812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bourbon distillery
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best of the Bourbon Trail!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this place is great - the tour is easy walking and very informative on how this fine bourbon is made and the tasting is the highlight at the end. Our tour guide Keith made the tour enjoyable as he interacted well with the members of our group. Like the walking headsets they have you use so you don't miss a thing! Location is beautiful - right in the middle of beautiful horse country! Don't miss this even you aren't completing the entire bourbon trrail - it's the best of the 7 places!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    134
    33
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Must See Distillery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We took the corn to cork tour at Woodford Reserve Distillery,$25. Steve B. was our guide who gave the history and step by step processes of making crafted bourbon from mashing, distilling and aging. The setting of the historic distillery was nestled in the lush green of Kentucky horse country and, in my humble opinion, the center of the bourbon making universe! The passion and in depth presentation was worth every cent or should I say every sip, for it included a tasting of the sour mash, white lightning and the aged Reserve straight from the barrel. This incredible tour was the high light of our vacation. Not only do I highly recommend but consider it a must see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best distillery on the trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Out of all the distilleries on the trail Woodford has some of the oldest and most interesting buildings. The choices of bourbon are a lot less than other places but the scenery and history make up for. Fall is a beautiful time to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place, part of the best was the drive to get there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Really nestled in a beautiful part of Kentucky
it was Indian summer so leaves were a blaze of glory. Woodford very pretty, nice rocking chairs on wrap around porch so even waiting for tour to begin was a pleasure. Tour was fun and interesting. Lunch was available. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinehurst, nc
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I was in the area and decided to try a distillery tour. It was a great choice. The distillery is a bit out of the way but located right in the middle of some of the most beautiful horse farms you will ever see. The distillery itself is quite nice and the tour is both interesting and inexpensive. Just a great way to spend a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodford Reserve Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Woodford Reserve Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Reserve Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.