We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodford Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Woodford Inn
Save
You added The Woodford Inn to your Saves list
140 Park Street, Versailles, KY 40383   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Lodge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had occasion to stay here on a cross-country trip, and wanted to stay near friends, and made Versailles a way-point for that reason. This was basically the only option. At first glance, the place is wonderful, but it appeared that our room was set up for one person, not a couple. There were things that were broken, and had not been repaired. The coffee maker in the room had not been cleaned. We did enjoy our meal in the bar downstairs, though. The bartender was really great! Overall, the place was nice enough, but overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
86
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First of all I want to compliment the staff. Everyone that my wife and I came in contact with were pleasant, and helpful. Tim and Bill were two of the most enjoyable bartenders I have met. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and functioned properly. The Inn is in a good location, being off the main road but within walking distance of downtown Versailles....a couple hundred feet. The breakfasts were wonderful, but limited. The morning staff were more than happy to adjust the breakfast to meet personal needs. Our dinners we had the three nights we stayed were high quality in flavor and portion, and also comfortably priced. The one morning they made a vegetarian quiche ahead of time just for my wife.......and we never asked. Yes the front porch is a great place to sit and relax. I wish the bar was open earlier in the afternoon, just in case of bad weather. I really enjoyed talking with the big boss Bruce. Not to often do you run into a person in his position who is so approachable and friendly, very hands on. I would highly recommend the Woodford Inn for people who normally stay at Inns, and for ones who have not. Their atmosphere is much better than a large hotel. Thank you all for a wonderful stay, and thank you Bruce for that wonderful treat from the top shelf.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

For a well traveler Brazilian-American I rather give my business to a local hard working family than to a big Ritz Carlton corporation or the like.

The warmth of their reception, the cozy bar with hospitable locals and visitors from all over enhance the flavor of your Bourbon Trail Horse Farms visit.

May America see the advent of new local owned inns.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean, basic, OK for spending the night but nothing outstanding. We stayed two nights - enjoyed the bourbon flights that came with a two night stay. The front porch is great but we were there during fish fry night and a street party going on so it was busy outside. While we got fresh towels on day 2, the beds weren't made and the trash wasn't emptied. Breakfasts were substantive and service was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a recent motorcycle trip to the Kentucky bourbon trail, we were greeted by Merideth who took excellent care of us. She even found a local gentleman to clean our extremely dirty bikes. The evening was spent sitting on the front porch sipping bourbon and talking with the locals. Everyone was so friendly and full of top notch advice. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. I am not a regular bed & breakfast person; however, I would definitely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Awkward check-in process. Room we were in had a tub only. Faucet handles broken in bathroom. We had coffee for a coffee maker, but no maker. Needs new bed linens, there was a hole in the sheets and there wasn't a blanket only bedspread. The breakfast was very good for Sunday Brunch, which was included in our stay. The bar had super friendly staff. It was an easy drive to Lexington and Woodford Reserve Distillery. (Which I highly recommend the Bourbon Tour at all the distilleries)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, IN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 2 nights at this B&B. Trip Advisor has this listed as an Inn, which I suppose it is, but its just more like a B&B.. While we were there there were only 2 other couples so it was pretty quiet. From the moment we got there the staff was super wonderful. Kayla checked us in and answered so many questions for us about where to go and what to do. The room was very nice, nothing special but clean, big bathroom. Tempur Pedic beds (we have one at home) very comfortable sleeping for us. The breakfast was good, quiche one day and pancakes the other. Coffee was pretty good too. We decided to eat at Addies (its on the 1st floor of the Inn). While there the bartender was excellent, didn't get his name but he worked with us on our bourbon flight. We also met some local people who come to Addies pretty much every night. They helped us so much with our bourbon trail planning and experience. We also ate at Addies our second night and visited with those same people again. They made us feel like family or that we had been friends for a long time. The charm of this Inn is the rooms are clean, comfortable and pretty quiet and the staff at the Inn and Addies Restaurant are awesome. The local residents also make this place a gem to visit. Oh we also at dinner on the porch one night and had drinks while sitting on the porch in rocking chairs. If we come back to bourbon country next year we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodford Inn

Address: 140 Park Street, Versailles, KY 40383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a sponsor of the famous Kentucky Bourbon Trail, The Woodford Inn is a twist from your "traditional B&B" and provides a lively and personal experience the moment you walk in the door! Addie's Restaurant & Bar is located on the first floor, which also includes our outdoor pavilion for dining and live music during warm weather. It is a staple for not only the customers staying at the Inn, but for the local community as well. If you are looking for beautiful rooms, great dining and fun staff, look no further than The Woodford Inn for your next stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.