We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big South Fork Train

Big South Fork Train
Stearns, KY
800-462-5664
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Stearns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A three-hour scenic train ride to the restored Blue Heron Mining Community.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went not really knowing what to expect, the train ride is noisy and it makes it hard to here what they are saying over the speakers, you really don't get much of a view from the train because your going through woods and mountain. When you get to the mine site it's kind of cool it has some trails you can walk even one that goes over the river a concession stand and a gift shop. I wouldn't go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived early to tour the museum before the train ride. There was also a blue grass band that entertain guests before boarding. The ride was very scenic. You had a choice of 2 cars with windows, one open sided car with roof, and one completely open car with wooded benches. It was sunny and warm so we opted for car with roof. The time in Blue Heron flew. We barely had enough time to take a quick look at everything. The blue grass band also played at the mining town. There is a concession stand and rest rooms at Blue Heron. All the trails are paved so walking was easy. Most of the trip follows a beautiful river. We really enjoyed our day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must do while in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I took my 2 boys, ages 8 and 14, on this trip and it was a HUGE hit with all 3 of us. The scenery was breathtaking and the hiking around the old mining camp was really informative and fun. I could have stayed there for a lot longer. Granted, we went on a sunny day and brought sweatshirts for the breeze on the train - it would be much less fun in rain or cold. We also packed a picnic lunch - there are plenty of gorgeous spots to enjoy that when you arrive at the mining camp. This trip is great for families, older people who don't want to take long hikes to see the area, couples who are looking for a fun date idea, or anyone who wants a glimpse into the beautiful Big South Fork National Recreation Area in a short amount of time. If you can, get a seat on the left side of the train for the best views. Well worth the 3 hours and the small fee paid! I would definitely do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This area is so beautiful any time of the year, but especially Spring or Autumn. Prices are reasonable, also.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A wonderful day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Oh my goodness. What a treat! The train ride was beautiful. I had no idea Big South Fork had such large boulders and gorges. A cheap admission fee for a three hour tour plus an admission fee into their little local museum that was really fun and interesting. I had a wonderful day and the fall colors were just perfect.

They have indoor and outdoor train carts. I would have sat in the outdoor cart if I had dressed warmer. It would have been worth the chill.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big South Fork Train also viewed

 

Been to Big South Fork Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big South Fork Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.