We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
70 Sonny's Way, Somerset, KY 42501 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
606-678-0198
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 82 Restaurants in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Owingsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had the half chicken, mac and cheese, cole slaw, and corn bread. It was GREAT!!! The service was wonderful. Love this restaurant! Will return, that's a promise!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Deanie J, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our chicken with your sides of cole slaw, mac and cheese. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greendale, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Somerset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good selection of ribs and a very tangy sauce. Coleslaw is top notch as are the fries. Prices are reasonable for a quality meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Rich S, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our ribs and coleslaw. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good bbq”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

have had dinner here on more than one ocassion. always good service was given. friendly people and willing to please. bbq is good as are most items on the menu that I have tasted. you typically can get in and out fairly quickly with most often fast service. I don't have any issues to gripe about...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
H0rsetrader, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and BBQ. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sonny's Bar-B-Q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The quality and temperature of the food was great!! Flavor was awesome!! Service was outstanding! Would recommend for variety of reasons: casual, business, etc.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Tim B, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and southern hospitality. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great bar-b-q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great tasting food! You can pick what kind of sauce you like for the meat, add yourself. Cold slaw is made in house always fresh

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Scoobydootn, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.