We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but smelly rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 S Lakeview Drive, PO Box 96, Shepherdsville, KY 40165-7128   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Galesburg, United States
1 review
“Nice, but smelly rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a room that was supposed to be non-smoking but there was a lingering odor that never went away during our 2 night stay. It was annoying to say the least. The rest of the stay (amenities, etc) was fine, but that odor just turned us off. As this happened once before, we will probably choose another hotel and hope we don't face this issue again. If it were not for that odor...we would be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this feedback to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
As started to you in an earlier correspondence, I have authorized a partial refund to your card. I hope you accept this small gesture as proof that we care about your business. There is never an excuse for odors to be present in a guest room. I always tell guests to please report such incidents immediately so we can make correction while you are on the property.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We do not want to loose you as a guest, and hope that we can win you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    16
    13
    10
See reviews for
45
41
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Needed place for the night and this was a great value for what we received. The breakfast included gravy and biscuits..gotta love hotels in the South! Clean with friendly service and very informative staff. Lots of restaurants around the hotel to choose from or have pizza and wings delivered like we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

room was clean, and they take dogs, very important !! Good breakfast. came in very late at night and the staff was very accomodating, only king rooms were available. called other hotels for me, before I took the king suite with a hot tub

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was the final leg on a long trip and we chose this location because of the Plus, the lobby and breakfast room were ok, the room smelled very bad and the AC was not working properly. I sprayed the room with Lysol and made no change, VERY DISSAPPOINTED for being a PLUS. The bed also was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the lack of quality you experienced during your recent stay with us. There is never an excuse for a guest room that is not properly cleaned. We pride ourselves on the delivery of a quality product, and the fact that you did not get that is unacceptable. I have personally looked into this matter. I determined that your complaint is very valid, and hence have refunded your money in full for your stay. At our hotel and at all Best Western's we take pride in cleanliness above all else. I appreciate your comments, and your information will be used to provide better training for my staff, and to hopefully ensure that situations like this will not occur again. I genuinely hope that you will consider staying with us again, and give us another chance to prove that we honor you as a guest and want your continued loyalty to our hotel and to the brand as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed on a Friday night and there were sports teams staying there. Not really the hotel's fault but the parents let their kids just run back and forth past our door all evening and it really was bad! We finally talked to someone at the front desk who said she would call their room. Couldn't really tell if that happened. Otherwise nice place. The front desk person took my coupon and even got us a room with queen beds. Breakfast had those watery scrambled eggs found everywhere and sausage links.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Need of maintenance and repairs from the time you drive up Security at hotel questionable to say the least. Unsupervised entry doors left unlocked. Bathroom light fixture had build up of black mold visible as fixture had a bulb burnt out. Various smells from room to room plus sections of hallways unknown what to be. Overall terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
753 reviews 753 reviews
221 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here for two days while discovering Louisville.

The best thing about the room was the shower. Everything else was fine.

There's a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Breakfast is included and there is a guest laundry.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South

Address: 211 S Lakeview Drive, PO Box 96, Shepherdsville, KY 40165-7128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 11 miles south of Louisville on I-65, the BEST WESTERN PLUS South offers easy access, quality accommodations, great rates and guaranteed friendly service for those traveling the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, attending major Louisville area events, or seeking the best location for group and reunion housing. Guests of the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN PLUS South hotel in Shepherdsville, Kentucky will find that each well-appointed guest room comes complete with quality upscale bedding, expanded cable, satellite television with 37-inch HD flat screen TV's, and free wireless high-speed Internet access.Start the day off right with a complimentary full hot breakfast, and then head back to take a dip in our seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Get energized in the on-site exercise facility and then relax with friends at the areas only in hotel cocktail lounge. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to Louisville International Airport and area businesses, including Gordon Food Services, UPS Air Hub, Zappos/Amazon, GSI Commerce Inc. and Best Buy. Truck drivers looking for a break from the road will love our large parking lot, which can accommodate rigs of any size.Just a short drive from the hotel, the best of the area awaits. From the historic Kentucky Bourbon Trail to Kart Kountry, historic Bardstown, Churchill Downs, Bernheim Forest and the KY Derby, the BEST WESTERN PLUS South offers easy access to it all. The Kentucky Fair/Expo Center is just 13 miles away, which is home to popular annual events.If you are seeking accommodations for Louisville events, a short 15 minute drive can mean big savings during the KY Derby, Mid-America Truck Show, State Farm Machinery Show and the Street Rod Nationals. The Fort Knox U.S. Army Military Reservation is 20 miles away, home of the Human Resources Command, Army Cadet Command, the U.S. Army Recruiting Command and the famed "Gold Vault" and General George S. Patton Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shepherdsville
Shepherdsville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.