We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Brenton Way, Hillview, Shepherdsville, KY 40165   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 7 days for a baseball tournament in Elizabethtown. Let me start by saying if your staying for a tournament the park is 30-40 minutes away depending on traffic. That said your much closer to louisville and the attractions there, so in my opinion it's a wash.

Now the Hotel was nice, clean, we had no issues for the week. The employees were all friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. Yes as some of the previous reviews have said could use some cosmetic touch ups in the room ( broken toilet paper holder, chip in the tub ) but overall the room was fine.
Breakfast in the morning was good, large room, and an employee who was constantly checking on things and refilling as needed, nice job!
So at the end of the day, I would recommend it as a place to stay if visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
7
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I'll admit this hotel needs some upgrades. The tub in our room was rusted and chipped. The furnishings are showing some wear. But on the whole, this hotel is quite nice. The breakfast room was spacious with plenty of seating (sometimes a problem at other HI Expresses I've stayed at). The staff was friendly and offered a free rollaway when there was no hide-a-bed couch in our room as the online room description stated. Be advised that noise travels quite easily in this hotel. There was a large gap between the door and the floor that allowed us to hear virtually every hallway conversation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here before a nearby golf outing. Checked in after midnight without any issues and the clerk was nice and helpful. Room was nice even though I didn't stay long. I did eat at the free breakfast buffet and it was good but could have been better. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

First off, the outside and the lobby of this hotel are very nice. The inside of the room, however, was not as great. Our hair dryer looked like it had already caught fire at least once before, so we unplugged it. Unknown white substance all along the side of the night stand, and missing light bulbs. The front desk clerk was nice enough, but I never did receive the 500 bonus points welcome amenity. I've filed with IHG, who has sent the notice to the hotel- still no response two weeks later. Poor response to issues, and it seems like poor upkeep in the rooms. Would not stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear sgdoug,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing your feedback about our property. It’s nice of you to notice the appearance of our lobby and I thank you for your kind words for our staff.

On the other hand, I am saddened that we fell below your expectations about some of our amenities and that the follow-up on your bonus points was a let down. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shepherdsville hotels

San Marino, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

They call the area Hillview. Other motels across the street call it Brooke, KY, or Shepherdsville, KY. It's on I-65 about 16 miles south of downtown Louisville. The elevator door was slow, but that seems to be a common problem everywhere. Breakfast featured eggs, sausage, and a pancake machine. And biscuits and gravy. The maid knocked loudly on my door in the morning. Can't she see that I have turned that lock? Doesn't that show on her side of the door?
This hotel is not managed by the Musselman company, so it is a better choice for you!

Room Tip: My room did not face I-65.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Smoke free and bug free. Anything else is a bonus.
Clean, quiet and a continental breakfast.
When asked about the rewards program from checking out of our HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS the night before (different city) this person just answered as he was trained in and did not honor this or AAA or anything else. Prices are high, but again, SMOKE FREE & BUG FREE.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel has horrible managment. I had two issues during my stay and they could not fix my mainteance problems and then would not return my phone calls to resolve my issue.

You are better off slepping in your car!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Brian H,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Hillview.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview

Address: 365 Brenton Way, Hillview, Shepherdsville, KY 40165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview, Kentucky Hotel near the Louisville International Airport Visitors to northern Kentucky enjoy their stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Hillview near the Louisville International Airport. Our hotel is near major Louisville attractions and offers you the comforts of home. Lodging in our Hillview hotel means you are just 15 miles south of downtown Louisville. Visitors can tour the Speed Museum, Bernheim Arboretum & Research Forest, and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Derby Museum. Travelers of all ages enjoy spending a day at the popular Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom eight miles away or Kart Kountry just two miles away from our Hillview, KY hotel. Our hotel south of Louisville is convenient to area businesses such as the Ford Plant, Best Buy Center, and Gordon Foods Center, while the Kentucky International Convention Center is only 15 miles from our hotel in Hillview. If you need to host a meeting or an event during your stay, our hotel boasts two meeting rooms and a Business Center with services such as copying, printing and faxing. You'll enjoy our Hillview hotel's amenities like an indoor, heated pool and a well-equipped Fitness Center. Additional amenities to make your stay more comfortable and relaxing include the complimentary, hot breakfast bar and the free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Hillview, KY on your next visit to the Louisville area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hillview
Holiday Inn Shepherdsville
Shepherdsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.