We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Roadhouse

Cattleman's Roadhouse
221 Breighton Cir, Shelbyville, KY 40065
(502) 647-5959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Shelbyville
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the second time I have eaten at the Cattleman's. The first time the food was great (the rolls still are) and the service was very good. This last time, I ordered the steak and it was overpowered by the pepper seasoning. My husband likes his steak seasoned this way and was pleased with his. The service tended to be a little slow and not as friendly as it was during my first visit, but they were a lot busier too. We did not have to wait for a seat, even though it was the Sunday after Thanksgiving. I will go back, but I doubt I'll order the steak again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous steaks and burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a geat meal! Simple steaks and burgers and a salad bar, like so many places in America, but so well done that it stood out. Four of us had a delicious lunch which we really enjoyed and I would recommend this roadhouse to everyone despite its rather unpromising location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yes it is a sit down resturant, BUT the service is awful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We tried again, have not been back to this establishment since Valentines, hoped for a better evening, were very disappointed, AGAIN. The food is alright, can be pricey with smaller portions, BUT salad bar is wonderful. So we thought we would try again, big mistake, will not go back, service is the pits!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Owner at Cattleman's Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for writing about your experience at Cattlemans Roadhouse Shelbyville. I am glad you liked our Signature Salad Bar, but am upset you were so unhappy with the service. We pride ourselves on great food and service. We try to be better than other casual steakhouses, by serving Creekstone Angus Beef, having a great salad bar, and friendly efficient service. I am sorry we failed on your visit, and would like to make it right. Please contact me at Cattleman's Shelbyville 502-647-5959.

Thanks,

Bill Hisle,

Owner

Cattlemans Roadhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Kinda expensive. Salad bar very fresh. Moonshine chicken nothing special, tasted like BBQ grilled chicken. Service not good. The waitress didn't tell us the special... I over heard another waitress telling another costumer the special, gave us the wrong drinks, never offered more bread. Fried pickles only half full.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice compliment to the Ramada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The location was perfectly positioned next to the Ramada I was staying at. Both properties complimented each other very nicely as both were very clean, well ran, and basically new constructions. The food was really good and the sirloin lunch special was always a weekly favorite. Thanks for such great service!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattleman's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cattleman's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.