We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Richmond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1099 Barnes Mill Road, Richmond, KY 40475   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Richmond
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold and dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed in numerous Hampton Inn hotels. The experiences are always consistently clean and affordable. This Hampton Inn was the most expensive I stayed at on my trip that had me stay at 4 different Hampton Inns. The room was a very chilly 60F and took 6 hours to warm up enough to take off my jacket. The bedspread cover was also dirty. As part of Hampton's advertising they boast about washing their bed coverings. To me is part of the attraction of staying there. I was really grossed out by the unidentified stains. I will not stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Check to see if the heat has been turned on and if the bed spread is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your stay and always welcome any input you can provide us.

Rest assured the problems you experienced are not typical of what we hope to achieve at our location. I will make it a point to share your comments with both our housekeeping and maintenance staff.

Again, we appreciate your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    55
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
68
40
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We always stay at Hampton Inns and this time everything was great. The front desk staff was good as well as the Breakfast staff. We will definitely return. On our way back from Florida we will stay at 2 other Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you!

We will be looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We always stay here on our trip to Florida. This Hampton has been updated and is a very nice place to stay. Clean, well appointed rooms and a great free breakfast. A tip, if you are traveling on Christmas Day, pack a dinner for the in room microwave and refrigerator. Nothing is open for dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We always apprecite our guests who return to us. Thank you!

The next tiome you're here on Christmas Day, please feel free to stop by the Front Desk and inquire about local restaurants. Though they are limited in number, there are a few locations we can direct you to on Christmas Day.

Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hampton Inn in Richmond, Kentucky goes beyond the call of duty to make certain all their patrons are taken care of during their stay. Their staff is the best. The rooms are clean and hotel is convenient to all areas of Richmond. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We always make it a point to not only meet our guest's expectations, but to exceed them as well.

I will forward your kind words to our staff. They really appreciate the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

thought the rate was a bit high even with the AAA discount as we paid $20 less the following night at a newer Hampton in in Georgia the following night. We would really like to see them change the breakfast menu and perhaps get better quality food. Next time we will skip the breakfast all together it is just too bland and tasteless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your stay as well as your input.

We would like you to know that we are "upgrading" our breakfast offerings beginning in 2014. We have listened to guests such as yourselves and not only are we improving the breakfast at our location, but the improvements will be made at all Hampton Inns in 2014.

Again, thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located to the freeway and Eastern KY University. The room was an average hotel room, but the bathroom mirror and the window looking outside had only been cleaned as high as the persona could reach. What they did clean was streaking and cloudy and above that was just plain dirty.
The wall heater sounded like a jet plane taking off every time it came on making sleeping very disrupted.
On the plus side, the staff was friendly and the included breakfast had a wide selection.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I was glad to read from your review that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. I do however understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel and more specifically regarding the cleanliness of our bathroom mirror and window. I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this Hampton near Richmond KY. The hotel is very clean, the people nice, the breakfast is a complete menu unlike some hotels that just have a few. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry748, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are thankful for your input and appreciate favorable review. We are glad your stay was us was both pleasant and memorable. Please stay with us again in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond

Address: 1099 Barnes Mill Road, Richmond, KY 40475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 97 room, 3 level property located in Richmond, Kentucky. We are located just off Interstate I-75 at Exit 87. We are located next door to the Richmond Centre Shopping Center, containing several popular restaurants, retail and department stores, and a 12 screen movie theater. We are located only minutes away from Eastern Kentucky University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond
Richmond Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.