We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the wine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acres of Land Winery Restaurant - CLOSED

Acres of Land Winery Restaurant
2285 Barnes Mill Rd, Richmond, KY 40475-9798
859-328-3000
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $28
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kent, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the food, not the wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Food was terrific. Try the Hot Brown, really good. We were told elsewhere that the wine used to be good. The wine samples we had were not. Wines were all flat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    3
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't try to use a coupon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped in to Acres of Land for a bottle of wine and because we had a coupon. First off, they didn't have the wine we wanted. We chose another and the bartender took our coupon and said she'd be right back. When she returned she said she couldn't take the coupon because even though it clearly stated in large print it was good for any purchase down at the bottom in tiny print it said not good on wine-excuse me, this is a winery. Meanwhile, Lowell came up acting like our best friend. I have met him on occasion but nothing to merit his effusive greeting-I would not mention it except something definitely seemed off with him. Also, one waitress came back from serving the ONE table with people at it (dinner hour on a Saturday) and told the bartender that since they didn't have anymore white wine the people were going to get Rose instead of what they ordered. Excuse me-THIS IS A WINERY.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for a tour group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I brought a motorcoach tour group here and we had a fantastic experience. The food was outstanding - you MUST try the bread pudding dessert with bourbon sauce - and the service was great. We had a big group, but the staff had our tables all set when we arrived and the entrees were excellent. We had a wine-tasting with dinner, and it was great. This place is a few miles out in the countryside, but is DEFINITELY worth the little drive to get there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, KY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A little way off I-75”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The prime rib on Fridays is out of this world. The service is fantastic and the wines are really, really, enjoyable. i am not a wine expert by any means, but I know what I like and I like their wines.

Sitting on the patio over looking the grape vines is relaxing and they don't rush you.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea Ky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful Interlude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

A friend was visiting from Florida and I wanted a special place to take her. Another friend and I decided on Acres of Land. It was a wonderful decision! The resturant is beautiful. I had always loved the old resturant that burned. This was my first visit to the new resturant. We ate on the porch so we could enjoy the afternoon and the view. The food was great,,,the service was very good. If you are looking for a special place for entertaining special people,,,,,this is it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acres of Land Winery Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acres of Land Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.