We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
1001 Center Drive, Richmond, KY 40475 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
859-624-4499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 108 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The outside of this place doesn't seem like much but the inside is a different story. The food is very reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“our visit to Sonnys BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food was great and the service was great the food was hot and was very full when we left. We eat at the one in Richmond ky. at least once a month

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“finger Licking good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to Sonny's yesterday. Hadn't been to a sonny in a while. Richmond is one of my favorites. The service there is great along with the food. My husband got barbecue chicken,
baked beans and fries and garlic bread. He likes the all you can eat . I got sliced pork, baked beans, and Cole slaw. they make the best slaw. Drink of choice was water.
The hostess was nice, offering drinks as he took us back. Waitress took order very quickly returning with slaw. All you can eat sometimes don't get go service but did that day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, KY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The portions are a great size. Enough to take home leftovers. The food is great. The servers always pleasant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Indiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Pulled Pork; Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sonny's has the leanest pulled pork we've ever found. Their portions are good-sized and their side are delicious. I am partial to their cole slaw, but my husband likes their macaroni and cheese. The cornbread (sweet) is yummy too. We have always had good, quick service there--which makes for a quick stop when traveling through.

I just wish they'd open a Sonny's in Louisville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.