We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Bahama Court, I-75 at US 25, Exit #90/#90-A, Richmond, KY 40475   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Laurie and Kayleigh were very helpful upon checking in. The staff even called to be sure our room was satisfactory. They tended to all my many needs and requests. The room are very clean. Flat screen tis in the rooms and a great breakfast selection including biscuits and gravy.

Room Tip: Their jacuzzi suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your most kind and sincere words about our staff and establishment. It means a lot to us that we were able to play a role in making your stay successful. We hope you are safe while away from home, and come back and see us again.
Sincerely,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    16
    7
    17
See reviews for
78
45
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the average of the tripadvisor scores without reading any of the details. It was a little challenging finding the property as signage at night was poorly lit / placed.

Zack (front desk) was very helpful when I checked in. The room was on the second floor and has some off odor. Seems that Red Roof encourages guests with pets and that may have been the source. The guest in the room next to mine had a dog and I did see other pets during my short trips out of the room. Hotels may now have to start segregating rooms by pet friendly and non-pet. I know if my spouse was with me that we would have left the room for another hotel due to the smell. Being alone, I decided to stay and did get a decent night's rest.

The towels in the bathroom are a bit worn compared to what one might find at a La Quinta property. The breakfast area was very small and if more than 3 people were trying to eat, you would bump into each other. For OJ, "Tang" was served -- maybe it's a Kentucky thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay, but I am also very happy to hear that the staff made a great impression on you. Your concerns are being taken into consideration and being talked about in management. It is a very good idea to put separate the rooms by pet friendly and non-pet friendly. We do hope you stop back in and give us another chance to make your stay a better experience. Thank you for your patronage and we hope you have safe travels.
Sincerely,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an updated Red Roof property with granite countertops in the bathroom, new carpet in the rooms and comfortable beds. Good location, away from the traffic of Lexington, yet close to activities. I appreciated the call from the front desk to make sure we were satisfied with our room. The back of the hotel is directly facing the highway and would be very loud in the rooms. They were willing to guarantee me a room facing the other direction when I made reservations. The front of the hotel is set back from the road and is very quiet. Hotel is NOT in a dangerous neighborhood. Only complaint I have is that the parking lot lights brighten the room at night. Staff said they would try to fix the situation in the near future. This hotel is hard to find - no signs at the entrance from the road. Make sure you ask for directions.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
I want to think you so much for your patronage and your most kind words about our establishment. I am sorry the parking lot lights. You are correct, they can be a pain to deal with during the night, and I am sure they will look into what they could do to help resolve the problem. We hope you have safe travels and hope you come back again to see us soon.
Sincerely,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were there for a 6 night stay to take care of some family matters. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was partially updated but there were a lot of spots in the room that weren't. It was a mix. We needed a suite because there were 5 of us (the kids came with us). We did get one, but thought it would be a bit bigger than what we found and the orientation of the "kitchen area" which consisted of a mini-fridge, mini-microwave, and sink really made movement difficult. There was great wall that they could have placed it on - perfect spot for all of it, which would have left far more walking space around the beds. The beds were clean, though and we did feel somewhat safe. The hotel really ought to have key cards or such for entry in non-main doors. The breakfast bar served the same thing every single day. Common items such as bagels and muffins, coffee and some juices, hard boiled eggs, too. But the hot items were biscuits and sausage gravy. It would be nice if they changed that up just a bit. The seating was barely adequate - three small 2 seater tables in the small dining area and 3 more out in the lobby. They really don't have the space for more, though. One of the worst part of the stay, however, was the unreliable room service. At first she came before noon, then it was the middle of the afternoon, and the last two days, she came after 4 and then after 5:30 just as we were leaving for dinner --- and she didn't even make the beds! Normally we would have just thrown them together ourselves but it had been a very busy day and we were in and out again very quickly. Earlier in the week we had made the beds ourselves just because we needed a place to sit that was neat. But since we weren't there much, we didn't bother and thought that the maid would do it. She didn't. She just put in new towels, took most of the used ones (she left a few still) and she took the trash. I was so very glad we were leaving the next day. I could live with the other stuff considering the low rate but the longer we were there, the worse the maid service got. Another bad thing - the hotel often smelled of cigarette smoke. Sometimes stale smoke, sometimes fresh. The bathrooms in the lobby reeked of it at times and we often smelled it fairly strong around the elevator areas. The rooms did get stuffy but we could crack the windows - which didn't have a safety lock on them and could be opened pretty far... hard to push open, but still, dangerous. Lastly, the elevator is well passed inspection. The inspection certificate expired in May of this year. Makes me wonder what else isn't being checked. :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for all of your feedback. It is always nice to hear about each of our guests stay. I am sorry that some things were inadequate for you while you were with us. I would like you to know that the maid service has been spoken to and we are working towards adjusting the problem. We advise them to do the stay-overs first, but sometimes it is hard when there is only one or two people here. You are correct about the kitchen, it is hard to do a lot with the limited space, but I hope it was enough to satisfy your family. I want to thank you again for all of your feedback and we hope that you choose us again for your lodging needs. We would love to show you the best we have to offer.
Safe Travels,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Red Roof Inn in Richmond KY was clean and conveniently located with a very friendly and accomodating staff. We had multiple rooms for a Homecoming reunion event. Great place to stay for events at the local university (EKU). Close to downtown and the school. Not the best place for small children on Homecoming weekend due to the noise level but an excellent stay for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I want to start by thanking all of you for coming to spend your homecoming weekend with us here at the Red Roof Inn. It is always a great pleasure when we can please our guests and make them feel right at home. We hope to see you next year for homecoming and any other tie you are passing through the area.
Safe Travels,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked this Hotel based on the reviews and it was disappointing , the area is bad and the Hotel is old and poorly maintained.
Also there is no good restaurants around the hotel. the gas station close to the hotel is very dangerous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I want to start by thanking you for staying with us, but I am terribly sorry you felt like you were in an unsafe area. Yes, this is an older building but we do our best to keep it maintained and make our guests as happy as possible. Your comments are of great importance to us and we hope to keep improving on our establishment. Again I am sorry you did not have the experience you were hoping for during your travels.
Sincerely,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked a king room for an overnight stay after a concert in Renfro Valley. Room was very clean and quiet and attractively decorated. Had a flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. Bed was the most comfortable hotel bed that I have slept in. Temperature in room stayed comfortable without all the kicking on and off that so many hotel have. Hotel was conveniently located near a Cracker Barrel, Waffle House and Frisches'. Plentiful parking was available. Didn't use the pool or eat the breakfast but those areas were clean and neat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDROOF551, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your most sincere words about our establishment. We do our best to maintain a neat and clean hotel, along with a friendly staff. Your patronage is most appreciated, and we hope you choose us again for your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Kayleigh Norris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY

Address: 111 Bahama Court, I-75 at US 25, Exit #90/#90-A, Richmond, KY 40475
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a locally owned and operated franchise and we strive to provide you with excellent service. We have 65 rooms and we offer everything from a 2 double bed room to king spa suites. Check in is at 3pm and check out is at 11am. We'll see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Richmond, KY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.