We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Richmond

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Richmond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1990 Colby Taylor Drive, Richmond, KY 40475   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Richmond
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here overnight while in town for a wedding. This hotel is extremely clean, modern with nice décor. The staff was very friendly. They serve a full breakfast and the breakfast staff was pleasant and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here and if in the area again would have no problem staying here. Located on a main drag with every kind of fast food place you could want including Chick-Fil-A and right across from a mall! Nice property!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear AJW750,
Thank you for the feedback and comments. I will make certain to share them with the rest of our staff. We hope you had a nice visit to Richmond and will come back to see us if you are back to the area.
Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    32
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
28
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow! My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. Every staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The full-breakfast in the morning was hot and delicious with lots and lots of choices. I will stay here again the next time we visit friends in Kentucky. A+ for this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 326 which was a corner room with a king-sized bed. Excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear RedDogLeader,

Your kind words humble us. Our hotel is lucky to have such a wonderful staff! Each member takes great pride in providing top notch service. We hope you enjoyed your time with your friends and will come see us again the next time you visit them.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed with the family here the other night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and stocked with everything we needed. We had a great time in the pool, in-door and heated. Slept well and enjoyed their breakfast the next morning. Our two young boys really enjoyed their stay and said they want to go back. The hotel is also conveniently located across from a Meijer with a Chic Fil A down the street. We will be staying here again on our next trip through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear RussellLong,

Thank you for the generous reveiw! I love that your boys enjoyed the hotel. The entire staff works very hard to ensure that all guests have a memorable experience. The fact that your boys want to visit us again is the best complement that we could ever receive. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This motel is extremely clean, well maintained and inviting. The desk staff greeted in an extremely professional manner. He was very efficient and accurate checking us in quickly and yet be sociable in the process. We got checked in and were relaxing when it sounded like the seventh cal vary had invaded. Banging the walls, running the halls and turning a nice evening into a disaster. I called the front desk and explained to complain but this activity was totally out of control. The desk manager said, "not a problem, I will take are of it". I swear it wasn't 30 seconds and it was taken care of. It got instantly quiet and stayed that way the rest of the night. Simply an outstanding job of handling the problem. The breakfast was very good, well stocked and hot. The bar was kept clean and stock. The check out was a flash with priority check out but a smile and a thank you all the same.

Room Tip: If you have a problem call the desk and I truly believe they will make every effort to fix it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear 0648375,

Our entire staff's goal is to ensure that each guest has a relaxing and memorable experience. I am thrilled to know that we were able to resolve the noise problem in a timely and efficient manner. We know that guests' have many choices when choosing a hotel and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hot breakfast included in the stay really boosted the value. I was expecting a "continental breakfast" (yuck). They had eggs, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, cereal, and more. I was pleasantly surprised. The facility was clean and my kids really enjoyed the indoor pool. Beds were comfortable and it was very quiet. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sgarshaw,

Exceeding expectations is our goal and I am thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed our breakfast. We indeed have a wonderful buffet and our goal is to provide a tasty start to your day. We hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, - clean, comfortable and modern. The breakfast had a good choice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We like Holiday Inn Express in Britain, and the US ones seem to be good too, if this is anything to go by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear SwindonMoomin,

We are glad to know that Holiday Inn Express is a brand that you can rely on when travelling. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our entire staff.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice staff. Clean facility overall. Room was clean with modern decor. Bathroom was very nice clean spacious. Bed and pillows were comfy and cozy, had a good nights rest. Breakfast was decent dinning area was clean attendant was friendly. Kids enjoyed the pool water was clean and good temp. Overall good experience would recommend, and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear revwiggins,

Thank you for your kind words. We understand that guests have many choices when choosing a hotel and we strive to provide a top notch product with wonderful service. The staff will be thrilled to hear of your great experience during your stay. We look forward to your future visit should you be in our area.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond

Address: 1990 Colby Taylor Drive, Richmond, KY 40475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Richmond, KY. If you're looking for a place where friendly people and smiling faces are the hallmark of a city, where the blend of historic places, modern conveniences and Southern hospitality are vibrant, we welcome you to look no further and stay with us. Located off I-75 at exit 87, with 81 spacious rooms, a free 'hot' deluxe breakfat bar, wireless Internet and an indoor pool. With just a short drive to downtown enjoy the scenery of historic buildings, shopping, and dining. At Lake Reba Recreational Complex, you will find, a beautiful fishing lake, walking and running trails, playgrounds, Gibson Bay Gold Course, Adventure Falls Miniature Golf and Paradise Cove Pool. Visit Hummel Planetarium on EKU's campus for a trip to outer space! If you decide to drive around you will see places such as Ft. Boonesborough State Park, White Hall Historic Site, Valley View Ferry, and the American and Civil War Battlefield sites. At Bybee Pottery, located on HWY 52E, among the southern hills of Madison County, you can still watch pottery being made, this tradition has been going on there for 200 years. Our new Richmond Center, located across the street has stores such as, Belk, JC Penny, Hastings Entertainment, Logan's Steakhouse, Culvers, Cinemark Movies. Acres of Land Winery has delicious dining and remarkable home grown wine. Galaxy Bowling and Champions Sports bar is fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.