We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Mountain State Resort Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pine Mountain State Resort Park to your Saves list
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
1050 State Park Rd, Pineville, KY 40977   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineville
Calvin, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would recommend anyone wanting a beautiful place to see the mountains and hike to stay and visit Pine Mountain State Park. From Chained Rock to Wasioto Winds Golf course, Pine Mountain State park has everything you need for a relaxing time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review for Pine Mountain. I am glad to hear you enjoyed everything our park has to offer. I hope to see you in the future.

Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I loved the little balcony of my room -- looking out on the mountain valley--and the nearby peaceful trails. The dining room was under renovation from flooding during a hard winter and operating in reduced space, but I hear its views are usually spectacular, and I look forward to that on another visit. A lovely place to spend a night or two for a modest price.

Room Tip: One room I looked at had a noisy air conditioner next to the balcony; if you want a quiet balcony, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for giving Pine Mountain positive feedback. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience here despite the construction. We have moved back into our dining room and the view is just as beautiful as ever. I look forward to having you back.

Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had visited Pine Mountain and Chained Rock many times before, and had even eaten ate the lodge's Mountain View restaurant, but hadn't stayed at the lodge. This time we did. What a treat... Cute, cozy and clean, with a great view!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for posting a review for Pine Mountain. I am happy that you finally got the chance to stay in our lodge and look forward to your business in the future.

Thank You,

Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I recently stayed in a 2bdrm/2bath cabin at Pine Mountain. My accommodations were mostly good. My bed was a little worn and some of the features, such as the plumbing fixtures, were old and needed some maintenance attention. But the cabin was comfortable, clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. I went to Pine Mountain for a relaxing weekend hiking getaway... And that's what I got! The staff was friendly and responsive.

The food at the lodge was good and affordable. The dining room was under construction during my trip. So, I was unable to enjoy the mountain view from the lodge. However, I was able to enjoy the view on a previous trip.

I would like to see Pine Mountain State Park further develop their hiking trail system, similar to some other parks in Kentucky. However, Cumberland Gap National Park, which is nearby, has ample hiking opportunities and serves as a good venue for hiking and camping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here despite the construction. We have moved back in our dining room recently. We all missed the beautiful view. I hope you choose us for a future visit. Please feel free to contact me if I can help you with anything.

Thank You,

Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewood, kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

After moving to Kentucky 4 years ago, we decided to visit somemof the Kentucky State Parks.
Coming from Northern Kentucky, the trip took about 4 hours.
We actually rented a pet friendly one bedroom cabin because we brought our Lab puppy and our cat that loves to travel.
What a surprise when we opened the log cabin door! It was charming. The windows all had wooden shutters on the inside to block out light in the morning and for privacy at night.
We had an adorable living room with a comfortable sofa and chair as well as a nice field
stone type fireplace and a decent sized television.
The kitchen was small, but had everything to make basic meals.
The bathroom was of sufficient size and had a great shower.
After exploring and taking pictures, we decided to have lunch at the Lodge Restaurant.
Great service, good food and a very friendly staff were impressive for this time of year.
I highly recommend Pine Mountain Lodge. It is a perfect choice for couples with or without
pets. Because there is just a swimming pool, it probably would not offer enough to keep kids
occupied...this was a feature I found appealing if you enjoy peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Get a cabin, they are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Pine Mountain. I am glad you had an enjoyable time while staying here. We look forward to a future visit from you.

Thank You,

Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have had the pleasure of spending a great deal of time at the state parks throughout Kentucky, and Pine Mountain continues to be my favorite. The views are spectacular and the hiking trails are definitely worth checking out. Some of the rooms and cottages are also pet friendly, making it a fun destination to bring the dog along for some exploring. My favorite place to stay there is in one of the old log cabins that sit above the lodge and park. They have huge wood fireplaces in the center of the room and a very comfortable feel.
They did have a water line break during the winter months and are working to restore the lodge and dining area. We were told that everything would be completed by May 21st for the Mountain Laurel Festival. We enjoyed several meals during our recent stay at the restaurant which provided a lot of options from a recently expanded menu. They have also begun serving alcoholic beverages in recent months which is something you won't find in the surrounding area, at least not legally.
Looking forward to a return visit already!

Room Tip: The old one bedroom log cabins are an experience you won't want to miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, General Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at Pine Mountain State Resort Park. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I hope your next visit is as pleasurable as your last one. Please feel free to call me if I can assist you in the future.
Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
606-337-3066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff was doing the best they could under very trying circumstances: construction delays, temporary kitchen & dining room, peeling exterior paint. Could be pretty woodland setting if given the thorough, complete renovation that's needed.

Room Tip: If you have a problem climbing steps while toting luggage, be sure to indicate at time of reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita E, General Manager at Pine Mountain State Resort Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about Pine Mountain State Resort Park. I’m sorry that the lodge being under construction made your visit less than enjoyable. We are undergoing a lot of renovations due to water damage and are very excited about the changes that are taking place. We will have our full kitchen back open by Memorial Day Weekend. The dining room will follow in June. We have taken steps to correct the delays in food service due to the limited space. It has been a learning experience for us all. Once the construction is complete, I would be happy to suggest an accommodation for a future visit. I think you will find our lodge more agreeable. Please feel free to call me if I can assist you in the future.
Rita Edmondson
Park Manager
606-337-3066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Mountain State Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Mountain State Resort Park

Address: 1050 State Park Rd, Pineville, KY 40977
Location: United States > Kentucky > Pineville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pine Mountain State Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Mountain State Park Hotel Pineville
Pine Mountain State Park Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Mountain State Resort Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.