We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Pine Mountain State Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Mountain State Resort Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pine Mountain State Resort Park to your Saves list
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
1050 State Park Rd, Pineville, KY 40977   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineville
Barbourville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Pine Mountain State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at Pine Mountain State Park December 14 and 15th in a two bedroom cabin. As always had a wonderful experience. We only live about 25 minutes from the park so it is a place we visit when we want to relax! You don't always have to drive far to have a vacation. It is always clean and comfortable, we never have to worry about that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I am writing as a true fan of Ky State Parks, we have been coming here to Pine Mtn. State Park Lodge for a few years now. The folks here are very nice, however, the important essentials of the resort are falling off. Lets face it, the most important things at any hotel are the bed and the shower! The beds here are ridiculous....they are cheap and hard as a brick. The water pressure and temperature control in the showers/bath are non-existent. The simple things such as carpet and bedding/curtains need a serious cleaing or total update. Flat screen TV's while not a must, would be an upgrade and arent that expensive anymore. Internet connectivity is poor and could be upgraded cheaply...The lodge just needs a few minor upgrades.....and this would be wonderful again! I am in room 243...if they offer you this room, just ask if the mattresses have been changed and if the water problems have been fixed. Man, what a missed opportunity for my state to present a crown jewel resort....I am going to travel more state parks in the coming year, I hope this isnt the new standard.

Room Tip: make sure you bring your own food and snacks, the closest food (besides dining room) is about 5 or 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, va
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently had out family reunion here at this park. We rented about five cottages and spread them out among our family. They were very comfortable and very suitable for our event. I stayed in the main cottage that had a big room for gathering and all the kitchen facilitues. Everything we needed was ther for us. The prices were good and the rooms were very clean and well kept. The park itself is very nice. We went on two hikes that gave taste of the beauty of southeast Kentucky. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to stay away from all the hustle and bustle of city life.

Room Tip: Cottage 290 was the one we stayed in. Its spacious for two families with two bedrooms and two baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This beautiful State resort sets high up on Pine Mountain, but definitely worth the drive. Nice rooms, good restaurant onsite, reasonable prices and a beautiful view while dining. Drove around the park through pine mountain lovely things to see. if you like to golf they have it on the ground at the foot of the mountain. Just a short drive takes you to Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, at the top a must see view!! We enjoyed this park very much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

And will come back here again. Like most park lodges it was not posh. But the beauty and the solitude make it a great place to stay. We walked 2 of the short local trails and they were very pretty. The view from the lodge rooms is very pretty. The food is good though not spsctacular. Finally staff is nice nd helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had intended to stay a couple of nights, play golf, do some walking and exploring but it rained continuously the first day and there was a 100% chance of rain the next so only stayed one night.

But was worth it. We stayed in Cabin 217 which was nicely placed in the woods with the nearest cabin 100' or more away. Very private and secluded. The only downside is that it was necessary to carry luggage about 50' from the parking area to the cabin but it was worth the effort.

The cabin was a large one bedroom affair with a sleeper sofa in the living room. The living room was large. In addition to the sleeper sofa there were two easy chairs, several end tables and a large table that held the TV. Amazingly there were lots and lots of cable TV channels which was good because the rain kept us indoors during the afternoon we arrived. This area also had a very large fireplace with plenty of wood stored outside. However there was no kindling or fire starter, but it was really too warm for a fire anyway.

The kitchen was fully equipped with full size appliances and a table for 4. But it would have been quite tight for 4 people to eat at the table. The bath was large and well furnished. The bedroom was also large and the bed comfortable.

The main lodge was rather motel looking from the outside but it did have large great room with fireplace. We had breakfast in the lodge and the view from the dining room was worth the price of the meal, especially on this rainy morning with the fog ebbing and flowing. Quite spectacular. And the food was good too.

All areas - in our cabin, the roads, the lodge, etc. were all very well maintained and clean.

We did have cell phone coverage in our cabin but no wifi for a computer link. Wifi was available in the main lodge. The only recommendation I have is that some type of booklet be prepared with a list of park activities and things to see, and a list of procedures. For example, apparently you are to put any linens you want replaced in a trash can on the porch but this is not explained any where nor was it mentioned when we checked in.

We are already planning to return to this rustic, secluded but modern park. It is well worth the few miles drive up the mountain to enjoy an almost hidden getaway.

Room Tip: Cabins 216 and 217 are near each other (100' or so) but pretty well isolated. Cabins 218-220 (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I truly enjoy visiting Pine Mountain, but this time wasn't so good. I had the unfortunate experience of having my car broken into and my purse stolen. So please, don't leave valuables in your vehicle.

Room Tip: The cabins/houses with more than one room are a bit nicer than the single room cabins. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Mountain State Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Mountain State Resort Park

Address: 1050 State Park Rd, Pineville, KY 40977
Location: United States > Kentucky > Pineville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pineville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pine Mountain State Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Mountain State Park Hotel Pineville
Pine Mountain State Park Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Mountain State Resort Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.