We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good seafood this far from the coast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaler's Catch Restaurant

Whaler's Catch Restaurant
123 N 2ND St, Paducah, KY 42001-0701
(270) 444-7701
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 154 Restaurants in Paducah
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprisingly good seafood this far from the coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very good seafood. Unusual dishes like mamoo shrimp are delicious. The shrimp bisque is devine. The have several Cajun offerings as well. Service is a little slow, I think because the cook most of the menu fresh. Tall walls between booths make for a private dinner or romantic interlude.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    37
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ombiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The best part of the dinner was the atmosphere. Tried it a second and third time with the same results.
But loved the cool fishing vibe and the multi stacked open area outside!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We've been coming to Whaler's Catch for years but it's just not the same. This used to be the "go to" place in Paducah but it has slipped. The food is good but not great. The service was good but not great. The decor could use an update. Prices have always been a bit high. Hopefully management will turn this around and work their way back to a top spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On a long driving trip recently, we spent a night in Paducah, KY and didn't know what to expect for restaurants. The hotel referred us to Whaler's Catch, where we were very pleasantly surprised and impressed.
They are located downtown across a parking area from the river. It's a cute restaurant, with a great bar, two stories of outdoor seating, and a (partial, anyway) view of the Ohio River. The menu is reasonably priced, has real seafood, and some interesting craft beers. I had a great shrimp gumbo and my wife a blackened fish that we both really enjoyed.
On future trips through the area we will be sure to swing through Paducah again, in order to eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Time Warp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Oh this place had/has potential! I really liked my blackened chicken and my kids loved their catfish, but the decor was dated and the place could use a little dusting. It used to be the go-to- place in town and I really hope that it is possible to get it back to its original feistiness.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaler's Catch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Whaler's Catch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaler's Catch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.