We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National Quilt Museum

The National Quilt Museum
215 Jefferson Street, I-24 Downtown Loop, Paducah, KY 42001
270-442-8856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Paducah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Quilt Museum is a nationally recognized art museum that exhibits the finest quilting and fiber art in the world. In an average year we are visited by quilters and art lovers from all 50 states and over 40 countries worldwide. We are one of the most popular tourist attractions in Kentucky. Our exhibits and programs have been recognized in dozens of national publications including Forbes, The Wall Street Journal, Southern Living, and many more. The St. Louis Post Dispatch said the following about our museum, "It's not that different than going to the art museum in Chicago...It's all so unexpected.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've never seen quilts like this in my life! They are fabric art. I would see one and say, "That's my favorite." then look at the next -- "Nope, THAT one is my favorite!" and on and on. All of these quilts were so incredible I simply couldn't choose among them. There were three shows on at the time I was here: selections from the museum's collection, the Japanese quilt collection, and a Civil War quilt collection. I thought we'd been in there for an hour, but looked at the clock and we'd spent 3 hours looking at the exhibits.

In addition to the exhibits, there is a great gift shop, with an extensive selection of quilting books. They also had quilters working on various quilt blocks so one could see how they are done. I'd love to go back and see it again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    37
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Being new to quilting, I was very interested to see examples of quilts done in various styles. There are wonderful quilts displayed in all disciplines, and there were two very special exhibits - one for Civil War quilts and one from Japanese quilt artists. Everything was spectacular to view. Each quilt had an information card that enhanced the viewing experience. The ladies in the display area, the gift shop, and the ticket counter were friendly and helpful. A very worthwhile experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Could be improved...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am not a quilter, but I stopped to see the museum because I was in the area. Yes, the quilts were beautiful. I just felt that curation could be better. Maybe an exhibit or more description on exhisting exhibits on the quilt making process. Also no photography (flash or no flash) allowed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Works of Art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am not a quilter but this museum is worth the trip just to admire the beauty and work/craftsmanship of the artists!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“You must see to believe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Truly amazing...I'm NOT a quilter, but read all the reviews and thought I'd give it a chance. So very glad I went. Wear comfy shoes and a light weight handbag because you'll stay much longer than you'd expect. Quilts by men, quilts from Japan, abstracts and contemporary quilts and even a quilt that was dedicated to The Hobbit!! Some quilts you'd SWEAR were not really made from a gazillion pieces of fabric! The gift shop was a delight and even better was the location right next to an even more delightful waterfront restaurant. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Quilt Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Quilt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Quilt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.