We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUSHI! YAY!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine

Jasmine
451 Jordan Drive, Suite K, Paducah, KY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 154 Restaurants in Paducah
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
Restaurant details
Metropolis, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUSHI! YAY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I love eating here. I get to enjoy eating some sushi while there is something on the menu for him to eat as well. The Lemongrass chicken only comes as appetizer..wish it was an entree

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went to Jasmine for dinner looking for Thai and some sushi. It was a good choice. The décor is somewhat interesting. It looks like it was an old strip mall breakfast restaurant converted to a Thai restaurant. They got about 75% done with the conversion and stopped though. Think Thai restaurant décor with fixtures from Perkins. The background music was at a volume that allowed conversation and was a good mix of modern hits and classics from the 80's through 2000's.
I asked my server Chelsea what she could recommend and she suggested the Katsu-Don on the table tickler as well as the Favorites section of the menu. I ended up ordering the sushi appetizer and Pad Thai. I did see Chelsea greet the table next to me and remember that they are gluten free diners and the specifics of a previous order they had. Very nicely done.
The sushi appetizer was a great deal. Five pieces of ngiri that were almost (read ..."should have been if eating politely.") two-biters. They were big cuts of fish and fresh. I loved it. Best sushi I have had in Paducah.
The Pad Thai was very nicely flavored as well. They hit a great balance in the sauce between sweet and the powerful fish sauce. I liked the ground peanuts on the side and the acidity from the lime accented all of it. The shrimp were cooked well and it was a nice portion. The only negative is a pet peeve of mine. They left the shrimp tails on. I hate this when dining. I do understand it is a presentation enhancer and flavor enhancer to cook with the shells. It is a big negative to me to have to dig through a saucy dish to peel the shrimp so I can eat them. If I want peel-and-eat shrimp I will order that. Okay, rant done...
Overall the meal was very good. I now know to ask for my shrimp to be peeled in the kitchen here. The sushi was top notch and I will order that again here. If you are looking for Thai and/or sushi you need to try Jasmine. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went here to celebrate my birthday. Started off with a glass of wine from a local winery (It's called Purple Toad Winery). Then had some crab ragoon as appitizer. (To die for) Then had the MSU roll. For those who like crab meat and cream cheese, you must try this dish. Great place to celebrate a birthday!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Thai food for the burger crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you're a lover of authentic Thai food then Jasmine will probably be a big disappointment; the Thai food there is just mediocre. I think the whole purpose of Jasmine is to make people who usually eat at a burger place feel as if they're doing something exotic. It must be working because the two times I've been there the place has been pretty crowded. Even though the restaurant bills itself as a Thai restaurant, Thai food is really a small part of the menu, and what's on there has been sanitized for western tastes, with only a few items keeping their Thai names (pad thai, tom yum, for example).

Their prices for the Thai food are not outrageous, but they do seem a bit high for what you're getting, especially when meat or seafood is added to an item. Service was good both times we were there, although the one time our orders really took an inordinate amount of time to come out.

Sushi also seems to be a big part of what is served there and maybe that's what a lot of people go for, although steaks and other western food are also on the menu. Being a vegetarian I can't speak to the quality of those items.

Overall, the atmosphere is enjoyable and service is good. Just don't go there for the Thai food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Get the volcano chicken or a steak! Nice bar area but also good for family or friends. Sushi is the wifes fav but you cant beat the quality for the price. Ive only had one bad meal really out of say 30, but its one of the top ten places in town to eat for sure. If your local you can get a savings card that is nice...................

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine also viewed

 

Been to Jasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.