We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehaven Welcome Center

Whitehaven Welcome Center
1845 Lone Oak Rd., (I-24 Exit 7), Paducah, KY 42001
270-554-2077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Attractions in Paducah
Type: Historic Sites, Other
Attraction details
Shipman
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

a very clean rest stop, nice place to walk and retain information for your travels. They will help you with reservations and information needed for Kentucky

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“the local haunted house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Paducah. I was a teenager this was a really creepy mansion that we all knew as a haunted house. There is no way to describe what awful shape this place was in. The last owners actually kept horses in it. Now it is rebuilt in it's glory and used as a rest stop. One part is restrooms and such. The rest is still authentic and beautiful mansion. They gives tours at certain times of day. If you have to wait, it is definately worth it. The home is beautiful!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Whitehaven - Beautifully Restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a beautifully restored southern mansion that has been transformed into a Kentucky Visitors center as you enter KY on Exit 4, I-24. It's well worth a few minutes of your time to stop by, take a break and enjoy seeing the beautiful restoration.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a neat pit stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were on our way from Iowa to Georgia and chose Paducah to spend the night in. We stopped at Whitehaven and it was absolutely beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hands down it's The Best Pit Stop Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I always enjoy stopping here to use the bathroom and grab some updated tourism info. Everyone is amazed on their first visit - a real live historic home open as a rest area!

One day I hope to time my visit for the free tour.

Stop by whether or not you "need to."

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehaven Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Whitehaven Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehaven Welcome Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.