We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Bon Harbor Hills, Owensboro, KY 42301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Owensboro
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We did a road trip from chicago-springfield IL-Cave City-????
Was the only loactions we had planned. We drove from Springfield towards Cave city for 6 hours and the night caught us in Owensboro (which on the map looked like a large city) This was the 1st Hotel we saw off the exit and I walked in to inquire about prices for a two bed room and was told $120 whoa that was how much our cabin was for 2 nights in cave city! with 5 beds! so we decided to drive around and find other lodging places and lets just say we came back to the Sleep in! It was very much worth it. This was the only place during our 8 days road trip that had a someone at the front desk past 6pm! The rooms were spacious and super clean! Somene complained about the size of the washroom but this was one of the largest washrooms we encountered in our 8 day trip! Staff was amazingly friendly! The breakfast was great and was from 7-10am (some places stop serving at 830-9am and when yoru on vacation you want to sleep in a bit) The breakfast kept being brought in and warm! Check in and check out was a breeze! LOVED IT wish I would have encountered other Sleep Inns during our trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
10
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southerner
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel and was very pleased with the accomodations. Front desk was super nice and the room was great except the bathroom was just too tiny! Liked the flat screen tv though. Free breakfast was very decent.

Unlike another review, we actually enjoyed the location...very quiet and out of the way. There is a convenience store across the street . Easy to get to from Hwy 60 bypass.

We will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and front desk
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Overall, it was a good stay:

Highlights:

- Friendly staff
- Staircase leading to 2nd floor
- Above average but not great breakfast

Lowlights:

- Far (5 miles) from main shopping/eating road

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Traveling on business. I didn't expect much, to be honest, as I had read that the rooms were pretty basic.
I was in for a surprise. :)
The staff was wonderful, location was convenient, check in and out was hassle-free and friendly, even though I did both at odd hours, rooms were super clean, and my bed had lots of fluffy pillows. Plenty of towels in the bath. Electrical outlets that were convenient (one was just above the desk) made charging up the electronics easy.
If I ever have to go back to Owensboro, I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — the place was spotless
  • Disliked — it was in Owensboro, KY
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Sleep Inn is the most basic of the Choice Hotels line and this one is typical. The king bed room was sufficient size. Refrigerator sitting on floor with microwave sitting on top of it--no counter or stand. Open hangar space, built in desk along wall, one reading chair and one desk chair. Sink in the bedroom. Toilet and shower stall in small room with pocket door. Some cheap items--door to shower hard to lock shut; water faucet assembly not correctly installed.

The room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Used the wired Internet. Their piped in music leaked into the telephone line, though.

We didn't eat breakfast, but saw eggs, biscuits, gravy, minibagels and danish, prepackaged other cereals and breads, and some diced melon.

Quiet location.

I was surprised that a budget motel in this town cost $89, but that was less than the HI Express, Comfort Suites, etc.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

I am suprised that there aren't more reviews for this hotel. We found it to be an excellent place to stay. Our room was spotless, the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, and they must have added to their breakfast because we had fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with cheese, homemade biscuits with sausage gravy, and French toast. The entire property was clean and well maintained. The owner even came out to greet us in the lobby when we were heading out for dinner. We stayed over the weekend so we didn't get to enjoy their free dinner Monday through Thursday. I have never seen a hotel fix dinner for free before. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Owensboro.

  • Liked — The efficient friendly staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and grounds, and the fridge & microwave in all the rooms.
  • Disliked — I wish they had their free dinner on weekends too.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I found the accommodations to be clean, room size was quite adeguate. The staff was efficient and unobtrusive. I will use the hotel again if I need a hotel in the Owensboro area. The cost was significantly lower than what I have previously paid for other facilities in Owensboro.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 51 Bon Harbor Hills, Owensboro, KY 42301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Owensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Owensboro
#3 Family Hotel in Owensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Owensboro Sleep Inn is located on the city's west side adjacent to Ben Hawes Park & Golf Course, Thompson-Berry Soccer Complex, Jack Fisher Softball Complex and the Owensboro Botanical Garden. HOLIDAY WORLD is approximately thirty minutes to the north-east of this hotel.Nearby restaurants include the MOONLITE BAR-B-Q Inn which is two miles from hotel. The Sleep Inn features an indoor heated pool/hot tub, fitness center, flat-panel HDTV's,free wi-fi and complimentary hot breakfast for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Owensboro
Owensboro Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.