We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant needs fine tuning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lure Seafood And Grille

Lure Seafood And Grille
401 W 2nd Street, Suite 101, Owensboro, KY 42303
270-240-4556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 128 Restaurants in Owensboro
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“New restaurant needs fine tuning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Food: Excellent. Wonderful sashimi. Perfect fillet mignon. Delicious sautéed spinach. Service: Attentive server. Busboy was not adequately trained. He asked to take my plate before I finished eating. A short time later he interrupted conversation to ask to take away other dishes. Checks are presented on a computer tablet, which I detest, as server hovers over you as you check accuracy of tab and decide on tip. Atmosphere: Visually attractive and upscale, unique for Owensboro. However, on a Friday evening with restaurant full, it was so noisy as to make conversation difficult. On top of that, music was loud. I suggest some noise reduction insulation be added. Value: Food is worth the price (high by local standards), but atmosphere is not. I will eat there again, but won't be rushing back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“new restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This restaurant is intended to be pricey in the evening. The fish is all imported from Hawaii and Australia as far as I know. Sesame Ahi Tuna was awesome, but I could have done without the sides. Broccoli raw was way over seasoned with pepper and the Jasmine Rice is not real Jasmine rice. It is just overly steamed rice and named Jasmine because of the chef's daughter. Even the beer mac n cheese is just ok. They use penne pasta. The bar tenders make great drinks. Not like the kind of drinks you get at the bar where the unfortunate population lingers, but nice classy drinks such as Old fashion and a traditional whiskey sour using egg whites and bitters. The menu will change after the first quarter, so hopefully out of the pros and cons of the current menu are shared, it will be revised and better. If you don't like something, Ben Skiatis is very nice and truly takes feedback to heart and into effect. They want it to be the hot spot downtown, so whatever it takes to make it the best, they are willing to do it. Lunch is less pricey. kitchen closed between 2:30 and 4.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I'm hooked on Lure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wow! Ambiance, great menu, great cucumber martini,(Thanks Ben!) attention to detail, great service, and very friendly staff. We discovered that this is one of the few places nowadays that still truly serves the customer and will do whatever they can to accommodate any requests. We started with cocktails at the bar, and were a little indecisive as to what we wanted, so Ben recommended a cucumber martini! I know what you're thinking; but if you've never had one, you're in for a treat! Don't tell them, but the 6 oz. fillet is really about 10 oz. Cooked to perfection. Alex, our waiter was very attentive. Unless you want BBQ, this is the BEST restaurant in Owensboro, and I'm hard to please. I believe in GREAT service, atmosphere, and value. Lure has all of this and the location. Great for a date, meeting, or just a night on the town in a stylish, relaxed atmosphere. Personalized service at its best... We will definitely be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious steaks but pricey. Our server must have been new at waiting on tables, she was nervous and appeared uninformed of the menu

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“River Front Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was staying at the Hampton Inn downtown and had the opportunity to eat here twice. Everything was very good. I really enjoyed the house salad each time and had the Filet (which was a great size), Crabcakes and Beer Mac & Cheese. The servers are very friendly and attentive. Going forward every time I come to Owensboro this will be a mainstay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure Seafood And Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lure Seafood And Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lure Seafood And Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.