We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlite Bar-B-Que Inn

Moonlite Bar-B-Que Inn
2840 W Parrish Ave, Owensboro, KY 42301-3312
(270) 684-8143
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Owensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
KY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been eating at Moonlite for years and it never fails to please my tastebuds! Went there today. Where do I begin??? The service is always great. The food is always hot and fresh. It's southern food at it's best! My favorites meats are chopped pork, ribs, barbeque chicken, country ham, and chicken livers. The salad bar has a good variety with my favorite being the cumber, pepper, tomato salad. I love the white beans, corn, dressing, and corn bread muffins. My favorite dessert is the banana pudding, but the buttermilk pie is good too. I can truthfully say this is by far the best buffet I have ever eaten. The price is great considering the quality and variety of food offered. We live about an 1 1/2 away, but every few months, we just have to go to Moonlite. YUM!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    71
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must in Owensboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love this place. It is not that fancy, but just a good ole' place to meet and eat and eat...sigh! They have a huge selection of bbq, sides, and desserts. They had sliced brisket, pulled brisket, pulled pork, sliced pork, mutton, bbq chicken brest on the bone, grilled country ham, mac and cheese, great mashed potatoes, corn, bbq beans, broc casserole, peas and carrots, and green beans. They also have a bread selection and a salad bar. Our dinner was around $17 a person, but it's only around $10 if you go for lunch and I didn't see much difference in the selections. They also have a to go deli in which I watched them pull meat out of the smoker and cut for me. One of my favorites and I will always stop in when I'm in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beware of buffet line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The buffet was well stocked and offered a wide selection but most of the items were either not hot enough or were overcooked from being on the line way too long. The items I did manage to select were tasty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A famous place with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The place is very popular as the people coming through town can find it by signs off the highway. The selection of BBQ is good. Service is good. For lunch tends to be a bit crowded so come earlier to get your parking spot and table.

Food is good, but not one I would call awesome. The expectations were not exceeded as flavor was expected. It did not WOW me, but is a good place to eat. I felt that price and quality were not completely at good ratio.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Contrary to the last review, the Moonlight is consistently a great restaurant. The pulled pork & mutton are excellent. Ever try burgoo? It's an old Kentucky dish, originally made with deer, possum, raccoon, wild turkey,etc. Today, usually pork, mutton & chicken plus various veggies. It's a type of spicy stew. Moonlight's burgoo is well known. Presidents have eaten here, along with movie stars and famous musicians. One can order from the menu, but the buffet is the way to try everything from salads, to entrees to desserts. I've been going since I was a child (I have grandchildren now).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonlite Bar-B-Que Inn also viewed

 

Been to Moonlite Bar-B-Que Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlite Bar-B-Que Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.