We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Riverfront!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smothers Park

Smothers Park
100-199 E. Veterans Blvd., Owensboro, KY 42303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Owensboro
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top Notch Riverfront!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was in Owensboro on business and decided to take a stroll around the downtown area on my lunch. Wow, I was pleasantly surprised to see a growing business district with lots of new development and the absolutely wonderful Smothers Park on the riverfront! For a small city with no major interstates nearby there sure seemed to be a lot going on. Most river cities this size are starting to decay, but not this town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a fun park for kids of all ages! I've been a few times and each time, we've had a great experience! The park and restrooms are always clean. I love that there is different size playgrounds for different ages of kids. I think my fave part is the fake grass and sidewalks. You never had to worry about mud and yuckiness on the playground. And the views of the river are amazing! Always looking forward to more visits!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, IN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Owensboro, a progressive City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Owensboro, a sleepy little town on the banks of the Ohio River has suddenly blossomed into a destination City. The Riverfront Park is a jewel to behold, and once the hotel/convention center is completed in early 2014, this will definitely be a city to consider.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A VERY clean, well designed park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This isn't an amusement park or a theater or a museum. This is a park. A very nicely designed park. A park my wife and I spent nearly an hour at just enjoying it and for an action/thrills seeking kind of person, that's saying something. There seem to be other places to visit within walking distance as well so plan ahead. Facilities were clean, everything is manicured, there's a place to sit and enjoy the river boats as they pass far enough away from the fully fun filled playground that seemed to have everything from your average play set to fake hollowed out trees to human sized squirrels. If your looking for your inner peace, this is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love it! I've been there with the kids & just me & my hunny.. Nice in the day or night. Plenty of light to see yet not blinding. Lot on neat playground equipment for all ages!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smothers Park also viewed

 

Been to Smothers Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smothers Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.