We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Miller House Restaurant

The Miller House Restaurant
301 E 5th St, Owensboro, KY 42303-4235
270-685-5878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 128 Restaurants in Owensboro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Miller House did not disappoint on our recent visit. Beautiful restored home with charm and class. The staff was super friendly. Our waiter was very nice and knew the menu well. Our meal was beautiful to look at in addition to being very high quality. Both meals exceeded our expectations. We went downstairs to the bar area and plan to return and enjoy our meal in the relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The wine and beer selection was also good. We liked the Miller House a lot and will return in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    2
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“steak substitute”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

ordered the rib eye. Steak was obviously what I would refer to as a thin breakfast steak. Either that or a thinly sliced sandwich steak. Either way I never went back. Quality businesses would never let something like that happen in the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Southern charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The place was full when we arrived with a party of three. The choices were an inside table next to a party or outside. We selected outside. The service was friendly and charming. The food was very good. Nice selection and a decent wine list. We would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming Southern charm with good food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ignore the few negative reviews you see. Chalk that up to a bad night for the restaurant or a former employee or competitor. The large old house is lovingly restored, the service was attentive, and the food was very good. And, we were there on a very busy night. One of the owners came by our table to check on us and other employees asked if we enjoyed our meal. We had generous entrées, salad, delicious vegetables, and a glass of wine each and the bill was just $52.00! That meal is at least twice that much in a similar restaurant in my city. In the basement is a very nice bar that had a great trio of musicians and a huge bourbon selection. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Once again we tried to see if anything had improved. Unfortunately the same slow poor service continues. When speaking to the owner/manager there seems to be no concern whatsoever, just get out of the way and let the other customers get by. His comment was " there are always a few like you". Food was marginal but overpriced. On the positive side the facilities were nice. The last trip for us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miller House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Miller House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miller House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.