We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping is great here, but try to avoid the disgusting restrooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carter Caves State Resort

Save Saved
You added Carter Caves State Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carter Caves State Resort
344 Caveland Drive, Olive Hill, KY 41164   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Olive Hill
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Camping is great here, but try to avoid the disgusting restrooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a great time camping here and the campground staff was super friendly and helpful, but the restrooms were absolutely disgusting. Having stayed at many other state parks in KY and other states I could not believe how terrible this camp's were. We tried to use the restrooms at the lodge before we went back to camp at night, it was really that bad.

The hiking, caving, camping, mini putt putt, tennis courts and children's activities were great. You see deer and other assorted critters frequently, kids will love it. The cabins looked good from the outside if camping isn't your thing.

We will be back, but we are REALLY hoping that they will take better care of the campground restrooms in the future.

Room Tip: Never saw a room inside the lodge, but we did see many staff people there cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, KY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My seven-year old and I went to Carter Caves for a few days of camping and fun. The staff all around the park was very kind and helpful. Mini-golf was fun, as was the Cascade Caves tour. A recent flash flood resulted in closing the waterfall portion of the tour. We were able to request a change in camping sites upon seeing our current location was a little congested. We had site 106, and it worked out well. The grounds were well cared for, except for the road system in the park. Watch out for all of the potholes! We didn't have much luck fishing, but it was still quality time together. The playground at the campground was very clean, and we enjoyed walking from the campground to mini-golf. We reserved our site online, and it worked very well. There is no wi-fi at the campfround, but there is at the lodge. Also, we were able to get cell phone service almost everywhere in the park. We went to the pool both days of our visit, and it felt very good. I wish they had a slide, but they do have a section with a high dive. They had lifeguards on duty during our visit, but they are about to limit the days lifeguards on duty beginning 8/13/12. The gift shop is very nice in case you want a souvenir. Great place for some family time!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and go here once a year for the hiking. Rooms are clean and nice enough. The onsite restaurant is nothing special. They have a limited menu as the buffet is the big draw. Don't expect a buffer like Ryan's though. The options are much fewer and the flavoring lacking. There are a couple cave tours lasting around an hour each that adults and kids both would enjoy. Don't expect Mammoth Cave, but the tours are still worth a look.

There are several excellent hikes less than 2 miles. The Natural Bridge Trail and Horn Hollow Trail are our favorites with multiple cave entrances and rock shelters to be seen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The resort is not what it used to be. The rooms need a renovation. Staff needs to be trained in hospitality, I asked for an outlet to be repaired twice,once when I checked in and the next day, it was never done. I had to put the coffee maker on the floor next to the bed for power.
The place was full of the staffs family hanging out while they were working. The restaurant staff was unfriendly and not helpful
Its sure didnt look like anyone was in charge

Room Tip: Be on the top floor, we were on the lower floor and the family above us walked a lot. You can here e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I just finished exploring Kentucky for our 2012 vacation. We drove from Arkansas to Carters Cave then down to Cumberland Falls and on to Mammoth Cave. We spent two nights at every place and by far we enjoyed our time at Carters Caves much better. The resort staff were very helpful and down to earth. We enjoyed the horseback riding and the hiking! I love the Quilts on the barns in this area! Very nice place to stay. My only complaint is the same i have for most state parks...... its time for makeovers!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Needed to get away from the week's hard work so I made reservations at Carter Caves State Resort and then played Eagle Ridge or Yatesville State Park in Louisa and Hidden Cove at Grayson State Park. The Chip Shot works for me. I eat coming into town so the stay and play supported my need for a get-away and two rounds of golf.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was at Carter Caves in the 1960's with my parents, in the 1980's as a parent and again in 2012 as a grandparent. It is a really beautiful park and very family friendly. Many activities - most of which cost a few dollars but are fun and entertaining. My big complaint about this park is that the trees are almost all pine trees - very little shade and if you're there camping on the wrong spot when the weather is really hot - it can be trying. The pool, which is generally fairly cold was a saving grace. When the temperature was 90+ the pool was 75 degrees - after you got in and got used to the water is did wonders for your body temperature!!!!!!! Great family park but if you don't know the campsites, before you make reservations check with the PARK itself about shaded sites. We ask the reservation company and their advise was really bad. Their recommended beautiful shady sites - weren't!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carter Caves State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Caves State Resort

Address: 344 Caveland Drive, Olive Hill, KY 41164
Location: United States > Kentucky > Olive Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Olive Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Carter Caves State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Caves State Hotel Olive Hill
Olive Hill Carter Caves Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter Caves State Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.