We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 122--Met our needs...great dog motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington

Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2149 Lexington Rd, Nicholasville, KY 40356 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nicholasville
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room 122--Met our needs...great dog motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A bit rundown, but overall experience good; reviews are generally correct, though tolerance levels of guests vary, making for different experiences...apparently rooms vary too

Pros: clean; great, hot shower; locks on doors; AC works well; got to bring my dog; managers on site 24/7; comfortable beds; good housekeeper; alarms and locks on side entrances; video surveillance; free wi-fi; laid back, friendly service; close to good restaurants; inside entrances; Starbucks within 1.5 miles

Cons: non-smoking room smelled of cigarette smoke....Bring a Glade plug in; dogs off leash (including mine)...don't stay here if you are afraid of dogs or have a mean dog; continental breakfast is all carbs + o.j. and apple juice; personnel smoke a lot outside...don't stay here if smoking offends you or triggers allergies

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    14
    8
    17
See reviews for
22
3
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Do not stay here. You walk in the door and find the staff working/lounging/living here. I am serious, they live here. In other words they all have master keys. The front desk lady was eating food at the desk while family members were barefoot walking in and out taking whatever they needed. It's like you walked into someones trailer home. The beds are old and uncomfortable with stains on the mattress. No blanket, just the cover. Rooms are in horrible condition, I felt like I should have slept in my car. Filthy. As much as the family employees smoke the whole hotel reeks.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. Do not risk your health here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon arriving the hotel said they did not have a room however I had reservations .They put us in a king suite, room dirty, carpet nasty, but the worst of all, Mouse droppings all under the sink. Called the desk and no one offered to come clean. They did offer to come and set out a trap!! Never stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I do a ton of traveling and this hotel is NOT on my recommended list. Everything from the parking lot, to the lobby, to the rooms is run-down. The room, while mostly clean, was far from what is expected of a HoJo. The bed was hard, small & uncomfortable. There was a leather lounge in the room, which was fairly comfortable but very odd for the room. The carpets were stained & old. Overall, the room was pretty rough-at-the-fringes, but no bugs or evidence there of. The lobby was in shambles & the "breakfast" consisted of open containers of juice, milk & boxed cereal. The manager (owner?) was very pleasant, however she had 2 dogs w/ her at the front desk, which she insisted on showing to us. Behind very large piles of disorganized paperwork, sat a collection of towels. There was no internet access & I was honestly uncomfortable about even asking. Across the hall from us was a dog who barked the entire nite. Directly behind the motel was a fire station. The nite shift employee was drunk, obnoxious & very unprofessional. Even at a discounted rate, this hotel was not close to a value.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a small (40 rooms) hotel with some of the nicest employees you will ever see. I felt like (and was treated like) family by the second day.

Our room was spotless, the lobby was also spotless. The beds were so comfortable ( not soft but not hard either) that my daughter wants to buy one just like it for her bad back. Yes, the TV and internet did go in and out, but considering that they were having horrific storms it was nothing that I wouldn't expect to have at home under the same conditions.

The housekeepers were wonderful and as I said, the rooms were spotless. They cleaned places that most people would have missed. I tend to check how clean the room is when I first check in. I was looking for something, but couldn't find a thing that wasn't clean.

I believe since this hotel is now a Howard Johnson that many of the former complaints no longer apply.

I am looking forward to my next trip, and will have no reservations at all staying in this same motel again.

Kudos to Carmen, Jennifer, Dani,Casey and all the others whose names I can't remember. (sorry it's my MS) for making this such a nice stay.

Room Tip: The first floor is non-smoking and the second floor is smoking. The smoke smell does not migrate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This motel is no longer an Econolodge, though the key cards still say it is. It's now a Howard Johnson's. It was quite inexpensive, and fine for a night alone on the road.
Positives: beautiful mirror and artwork, esp. in the bathroom, seriously.
Nice, large tv
Firm, clean bed (Not everyone will prefer the bed's firmness, but I do.)
Modern chaise kind of seat instead of a recliner. Comfortable
A/C in good working order on a very hot day
Negatives: Dirty coffee maker
Found a bobby pin on the floor (Actually that doesn't bother me either, but I know from other reviews that that kind of thing is important to many.)
Ironing board, but no iron in room
Location is far from interstate. Also ok with me because of my schedule, but others should be aware if traveling on the highways
My main issue was with the quirky reception. I was in a hurry, wanted to check in, change my clothes and then get to church. But the receptionist was taking her time, introducing me to her large dog and trying to make conversation when I just wanted to move on. Maybe if I hadn't been in a hurry it would have seemed welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington

Address: 2149 Lexington Rd, Nicholasville, KY 40356 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Nicholasville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nicholasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.