We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. Nothing fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average hotel. Nothing fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked the hotel two months in advance and I explained that we were traveling with a 1 year old and he can cry loud at night and I asked if we could have a room away from others as not to disturb sleeping people. When we checked in I asked if my request could be honored and they had no idea as to what I was talking about. So I explained what I was asking for.... They said the rooms were already assigned... I'm fine with our son but just trying to be courteous to others. No one did complain.
The breakfast is hotel food. Nothing special.
The views were very nice. River and top of a restaurant.
For the money and calling itself a suite, I will stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Every hotel would appreciate a guest as courtesy as you and your family try to be. With the request to be away from other guest this is something hard to do, especially when the hotel is sold out. Even when not sold out placing a guest in a certain part of the hotel does depend upon the room type that they have requested. If it appeared that the front desk was not aware of your request, it was probably because they were not sure how to honor such a request on a sold out night. We simply cannot take rooms off line and prevent the sale of them. I do apologize if it seemed that we ignored your request, however unless a portion of a floor is not sold, we cannot place a guest of ours away from everyone else. With our location that is on the banks of the Ohio River, 3 blocks from the Newport Levee (entertainment and restaurant complex) and Newport Aquarium, close to the Great American Ball Park where the Cincinnati Reds Play, we are often full as guest do enjoy the views and our area attractions. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay. We do strive to please our guest daily at Comfort Suites Newport and hope that you would return once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    77
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
51
58
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Comfort Suites in Newport. Saved $$ with a prepaid Internet rate on the hotel's website. It was very clean, quiet and in a great location. Although parking is kind of tight, we were always able to find a spot in the Comfort Suites lot. The TANK shuttle took us to the Great American Ballpark. It runs about every 15 minutes. Be sure to find out exactly where the pick up place is located for your return trip to Newport. It is about a mile walk back...not a bad walk, but late at night it was a little uncomfortable.
The hotel is close to several restaurants, stores and activities. It is a nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Comfort Suites Newport thanks you for your stay and is happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location. As we sit on the banks of the Ohio River, we are right across from the professional sports stadiums, the Cincinnati Reds and the Cincinnati Bengals. To transport the sports fans the city of Newport has convenient pick up and drop offs for our guest.
The Newport Shuttle picks up and drops off directly behind our hotel. The TANK will pick up and drop off in front of our hotel. We regret that you were not aware of these drop offs as they would have placed you directly by our hotel.
The Newport Levee is 3 blocks from our hotel, it is a restaurant and entertainment complex that most of our guest thoroughly enjoy. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a concert we were going to in Cincinnati. The room was a nice size. We had a river view and a refrigerator and couch in the room. These were both nice features. The elevators are extremely slow and small. The walk to Cincinnati attractions isn't terrible, but wear your walking shoes! Taking a cab is also an option if you can get one. The breakfast buffet was terrible and extremely picked over. We didn't even eat it. There is a restaurant next door with an awesome brunch buffet. I forget the name. Since the cost of the room is kind of pricey the buffet should be good or an option with a cheaper room rate. A shuttle would also be a great addition to take people to local attractions.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Comfort Suites Newport thanks you for staying with us while attending a concert in our area. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your room and the amenities it offers. Our location is close to so many attractions that Newport and Cincinnati has to offer. I am sorry that you were not aware of the various transportation options that are available to all of our guest. The Southbank Shuttle it is $1.00 per person, and will take our guest around Newport and into Cincinnati, even to Fountain Square. There is also the bus system, and even a water taxi 2 blocks from our hotel that will transport our guest to Reds Stadium. I am happy to know that you were able to get out and about while you were here as with the Newport Levee & Aquarium with Ride The Ducks, there is so much to do and see here at Newport.
I am sorry to hear about our breakfast experience in our Galley. Our breakfast on weekends runs form 7am to 10am, I am sorry that you were not able to fully experience our morning meal. It does get a lot of attention from our guest as it gives a beautiful view of the Ohio River with the Cincinnati Skyline in the backdrop.
We do welcome you back to stay with us as we are close to the Paul Brown Stadium, The Great American Ballpark and the US Bank Arena where many concerts are held.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you stay here, you must request a river view room. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. You are charged a $1.00 fee for the safe whether you use it or not. You are also given and firm and soft pillow so you can choose which you like best which was nice. The breakfast, however, needs some work. The first day they had eggs and bacon as well as the "usual" hotel breakfast items such as cereal, toast, and pastries. The next day, they had eggs and little bitty cubes of ham which I thought was odd. There are other restaurants within walking distance and they are in a good location. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and kind words about Comfort Suites Newport. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your River View room. As we sit on the banks of the Ohio River our hotel does offer views of the Cincinnati Skyline across the river. An additional amenity in our room is the variety of pillows so our guest can select the right pillow for a great night’s rest.
As you mentioned some of our breakfast items already, I hope that you did not miss our Belgium Waffles, fresh fruit, yogurts and a selection of breakfast cereals. We do offer small cuts of meats such as cubed ham or bacon for our guest to sprinkle on their eggs. Our breakfast menu also has cheese omelets which is a great favorite with our guest. On weekends we like to serve sausage and gravy with our hot biscuits, an old Kentucky tradition. While enjoying our morning meal, the biggest delight in our Galley is the view of Ohio River so that our guest can watch the skyline and witnesses Cincinnati waking up to another incredible day. For lunch and dinner our location does give a wide variety to our guest from directly across our hotel to 3 blocks down at the Newport Levee. The Levee is an entertainment and restaurant complex where our guest can relax, have a great meal, enjoy the views, take in a movie, bowl, Ride The Ducks, pet a shark at the Newport Aquarium and just generally have a great day into night experience. We definitely welcome you back for another stay in Northern Kentucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here over the 4th. We like Comfort Suites as a family of 5 as the rooms with 2 beds and pull out sofa bed seem to fit us all. This location is great. We have 3 small kids and walked down to Newport on the Levee every day. The walk is so scenic. Took the Tank bus to the Reds game. Super easy. The hotel was sold out for the weekend, but never heard any loud noise. We did not get the river view room, but you can check out the view from the hotel breakfast every morning.

My only problem, and trust me I am not complaining, is one of the beds seemed to be sunken in. I did not complain about it onsite as I wasn't the one sleeping in it so we didn't notice it until the last day. Since the other bed was very comfy, I didn't let this influence my review. I told the lady at the front desk on the way out and she did write it down so I am sure they will address it. On that same note, everyone on hotel staff was super friendly. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 4th of July Guest,
It is great to hear that your family enjoyed your holiday vacation with us! It is a pleasure to know that your children were able to get out explore our area and took in a Cincinnati Reds Game. I do hope that your children will remember their time at the Great American Ball Park with their parents, as such memories are precious and can carry a lifetime.
It is nice to know that your family had a quiet stay even over the busy weekend. We do regret that your bedding was not as suitable as you had hoped. We did receive the note that was logged in about your room and have checked it for maintenance review. It is nice to know that in spite of not having a River View Room that you were able to still enjoy the views from our Galley and during your walks.
Please know that we welcome your family back, perhaps this fall to take in a Cincinnati Bengals game! The Bengals Stadium is down from the Great American Ball Park. Oh and don't forget we have the Cincinnati Cyclones - the ice hockey team that plays at US Bank arena, right next door to the Great American Ball Park. Lots to bring your children to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen,Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We are locals and stayed at this hotel on a Friday night because we took a dinner cruise on the BB Riverboats and didn't want to drive home after. The hotel is clean and checking was easy . The lady at the front desk was very helpful with telling us how to get to the BB. We rode there on our motorcycle and she was very assuring about how safe it would be in their covered parking and it was. The rooms were nice and clean, the elevators were a little slow. The front desk said the walk wasn't bad to the BB riverboats but it turned out to be a hike for us, especially because it was so hot out. My complaint is for such a nice hotel something more needs to be done with the breakfast. It was very crowded and they ran out of food. The waffle maker is in a terrible place and makes it congested when you walk into the room as well as for folks trying to get to the juice machine. The layout for the breakfast room is terrible when thinking about the amount of people trying to get around to the food in there. If you are going to have a nice hotel and charge premium prices for stays, have someone think about the breakfast area a little more. My suggestion would be to have everything in the middle, buffet style so more people can get to food instead of standing and waiting, it was very irritating.

Room Tip: A good place to stay if your are going to the Newport levy or BB Riverboats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you were helped by the front desk. We are close to so many attractions, events and restaurants that our front desk can let you know things are within walking distance, they also offer the South Bank Shuttle especially on inclement or hot weather. It is up to our guest as to which mode of transportation they will take. We do regret that it was not a comfortable walk for you; all though I am sure you did enjoy the River Boat ride and hope that you were able to have dinner aboard one of the many River Cruises they offer down the Ohio River. Their evening cruise is spectacular as you can watch the sunset and experiencing Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky as their lights glow brightly as the night takes over. Thank you for your suggestions during our complimentary breakfast. Our guest love to experience the River View that our Galley offers, so breakfast is an eventful time at our hotel. We do have numerous items on our breakfast bar and have 4 different stations that offer 5 types of cereals, assorted breads including bagels, pastries and yogurts . The second one offers the hot meat items, such as cheese omelets and bacon or the very popular sausage and gravy with hot buttery biscuits. Near this station is the Belgium Waffle maker with our breakfast juices and the fourth station is the coffee and tea service. We had hoped breaking this into four different areas would help the flow a bit. Your suggestions will be taken into consideration and discussed at our next operational meeting. Please consider us the next time you take a trip on your motorcycles, we would enjoy your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in a river view room. It Was Awesome! This is a must if you are going to stay here. They give you a firm and soft pillow so you can choose which one you want and not have to fold a pillow three times to get comfortable. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and the usual pastries. Several restaurants within walking distance. They do charge you $1.00 (plus tax) per day for the room safe, even if you don't use it. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your guest room along with the River View it offerred. In each of our rooms a variety of pillows are placed out so that our guest receive just the right one for sleepring preferences. We do hope that along with the great complimentary breakfast you received you once again enjoyed the River View that our Galley gives to our guest while they partake in our morning meal. Our rooms do include a safe for valuables so that our guest may feel secure in leaving items behind while they take advantage of our ideal location alongside the banks of the Ohio River. With the Newport Levee only 3 blocks away, there is so much to do and see while in Newport. We welcome you to return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.