We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge this hotel by 2.5 star rating-it's clean, safe and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't judge this hotel by 2.5 star rating-it's clean, safe and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found a good deal online, and trip advisor reviews were good, so we decided to try it out. We had a suite with 2 full beds (219) and it was spacious, clean and the beds were comfy (firm, but that's my personal preference anyway). We didn't pay for a view, and you won't get much of one in this room. You are directly across from the Charter house restaurant, and you can see the river to your left when you stand at the window. The hotel is in a safe area and within walking distance of restaurants and Newport on the Levee was about a mile away. The staff was helpful and gave us taxi #s upon check-in. If you are there on a weeknight, grab food on the way in, since all restaurants that deliver seemed to close before midnight. We were going to Bogart's and the cab fare was around $15 each way. We stayed in a different C.S. last year and were disappointed, but not this time!

Room Tip: Go above the 2nd floor if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
57
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We always stay here whenever a group of us road trips to cincinnati for cubs/reds series. The rooms are huge and very clean. Breakfast was good but the layout of the space is a bit awkward...it's very hard to move around because there are three separate counters on opposite sides of the room and coffee is actually outside the breakfast room. Very convenient location...we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, rooms very clean and enough space so you dont feel cramped. Loved the covered parking and close enough to Cincinnati to do the things you want to do. Had river side room and really enjoyed watching the tugboats and other boats go by. Staff was outstanding and very helpful. Room rates are reasonable. Rooms start on the 3rd floor, we had a room on the 4th floor and view were very good. If we come back to this area will definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights while attending reds game. Short walk to Beer Seller and Hooters restaurants for water taxi ride to stadium. $5 round trip.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and outgoing!
Better than average continental breakfast.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Comfortable room with river view, adequate for one night. This was a business trip and accomadation was provided, so this was not an hotel of choice. Breakfast was just Okay, nothing much to complain about but nothing spectacular either. No swimming pool, which is an amenity I would need to have if I was making the choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river rather than the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights here for a wedding in April. It was OK for what it was, a place to stay in a convenient location. The hotel seems a little tired, especially in the common areas. The lobby is rather small, on the ground floor with the garage, and the common rooms for breakfast, business center and meeting rooms are on the 2nd floor. The hotel is right on the river, and if you pay a little extra you can get a room on the river side with spectacular views of the water and Cincinnati on the other side. You can walk into downtown Cincinnati and the sports venues across the "Purple People" bridge. There's also a shuttle for $1 that you can take to various locations. The room itself was clean and comfortable, free internet. Free parking, free breakfast. Windows in rooms do not open. Staff could use some training in "people skills", to make visitors feel welcome and valued, answer questions helpfully.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a river view room. Ask for a high floor so you can get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a one-night business trip to the Cincinnati area and had to be at my destination across the river at 7 a.m. the next day. Normally I won't stay in a downtown city-centric hotel like this, preferring instead to stay out in the suburbs, but I didn't want to fight traffic the next morning and I earned a stay toward a Choice Privileges free night, so I opted for this facility.

The hotel is oddly laid-out. There is only the office and a small lobby on the first floor, with some covered parking. Rooms start on the second floor, along with the breakfast area, business center, a larger lobby, etc. My room was a bit smaller than the average Comfort Suites room that I've stayed in before, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Refrigerator and microwave were provided. Wi-fi was reasonably fast and dependable once I found a connection that actually gave me an IP address and let me connect to the Internet. There are some restaurants right next door (Joe's Crab Shack, Buckhead Mountain Grill, Burger King) and several more just down the street at Newport on the Levee.

Shower water pressure was below average, even for a hotel.

Rates are more than I would normally pay, but my employer paid for this stay so that wasn't an issue on this trip.

I wouldn't stay here if I was traveling for general purposes in the Cincinnati area, because there are better and cheaper choices out near Florence or Erlanger, but if I had to be back in the area for a similar purpose, or if I needed to stay in Newport for personal reasons and felt the location was worth the price, this wouldn't be a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.