We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Des Moines, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Usually have had a good stay at Comfort Inns but when walked into lobby, immediately smelled smoke which I don't tolerate. Was told people smoke right outside the doors but could not see anyone doing so but could have been outside other side of building; still should not happen. We chose a room with a sofa hide-a-bed as had 3 adults--a mistake as bed was terrible. Also the refrigerator was close to the hide-a-bed and noisy enough when running that we had to unplug it. Breakfast was average. Parking was tight but we did find an ok spot. We stayed here as it was close to the Newport Aquarium which we were visiting the next day.

Room Tip: If you smoke and don't use a hide-a-bed, it would be more acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    77
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
51
58
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Pretty new, clean and cheerful staff. Very close to good restaurants and a good view of the river if you get a room on that side.
Very apologetic for not having the room reserved, made the reservation only a couple of hours before.
The Internet went down durring the stay and they did get someone to work on it but seemed like it was not a priority. The front desk seemed annoyed when I would ask every couple of hours. They did get it partially working mayby 1/50 speed with page Changing needing 10 refreshing clicks before updating pages.
I would come here on vacation however, I will not come here again while working. I was not able to be productive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The only downside to this location was the parking. Its tight. The room was clean and quiet. Very good breakfast selection, and easy access to downtown Cincinnati, and highways. Several chain restaurants including Joes Crab Shack, and Hooters without walking distance. The Newport Aquarium is within 5 minutes driving, and 20 walking. The service was very good. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just stayed one night, we checked in late around 9. We were visiting the Newport area and wanted a nice place to crash. The hotel was in a great location, we took a shuttle to the Levee and used taxies to get to Mainstrass. The room was nice and clean, check in was quick and easy. Breakfast was great in the morning. The beds were comfortable. Plus plenty of space, our room with 2 doubles also had a sleeper sofa. We would utilize the Comfort Suits again if planning an night in Newport or Covington KY.

Room Tip: river view, above the 2nd floor...due to early people getting breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel...went to the Newport Aquarium and to the Cincinnati Zoo. Check in was a breeze. Everyone we encountered was so friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Full hot free breakfast in the morning that the staff kept constantly stocked. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river which made it even more special...a great view of the Cincinnati skyl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I took a weekend getaway to Newport and stayed at this hotel. This was our second time staying at this hotel, the last one about 2 1/2 years ago for a Bengals game. Looks like they have recently renovated the public areas (lobby and hallways) - it was all new.

The lobby smelled of cigarette smoke, even though there are signs on every door about how the entire hotel is smoke-free. Later learned it was because the gentleman working the front desk took his smoke breaks directly outside the door, and brought the smoke back in with him.

We stayed in a 1-bedroom King Suite, with an in-room whirlpool. The room itself is AMAZING....it's actually two rooms separated by open, double doors - one bedroom with the whirlpool, and a living room with a high-top table and wet bar area.

The bed was comfortable, and we slept great. The river view was fantastic. The whirlpool, however, left something to be desired. It took a while to get it to work - the on button was stuck in, but once we finally got it loose, it kicked on. Either it hadn't been used in a while, or the filters had not been cleaned in a while, because the bubbles had this nasty dirty color to them - I'm telling myself it was dust built up in the jets, because I don't really want to think about what else it could have been. Makes you wonder how often they really clean those things out! Didn't spend much time in it and took a shower immediately after. Kind of a waste of an extra $30 spent for the whirlpool!

Breakfast was a waste of time - the hot items consisted of scrambled eggs and what appeared to be warmed up bacon pieces, not strips. Like chopped up bacon. Looked gross. Also, it's supposed to be until 10am, but half of the items were not stocked at 9:40 when we went down. I heard one of the attendants tell another guest that if she wanted something and didn't see it, she needed to ask because they don't restock that close to closing time so they've got less to clean up.

Not many choices in Newport, so if you're heading down for a night at Newport on the Levee, this is pretty much your only decent option. Think next time we may head in the other direction though and stay in Covington. There are a lot more options there!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the in-room whirlpool...may not have been cleaned in a while!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel. We arrived and went to our room only to find that it smelled horrible. However, when we approached the front desk they were very apologetic. They were able to give us an upgraded river view room at no extra charge for our troubles. Good service!
The breakfast is average, waffles, powdered eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, etc. They have convineient on-site parking, and are close to several restaurants. They also offer free access to the Urban Active Fitness gym that is just across the parking lots, which is a very nice gym. The room was clean and spacious and had microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.