We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Riverfront Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Riverfront Travelodge to your Saves list
Newport Riverfront Travelodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   222 York St., Newport, KY 41071   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times when we come follow out baseball team there from St. Louis.

The location is absolutely great. It's right along the riverfront. We park the van and can walk everywhere. The ballpark, bars, restaurants, and the riverfront landing are all in walking distance.

With the said... This is not a wonderful or pretty hotel. It was me and ten 25 year old guys who didn't care. The rooms were clean enough but still looked dirty. The decor is old and the hotel is overall in poor condition.

However the pool is very nice and we enjoyed that during the day.

The price is high considering the quality of the hotel. But I am assuming it was high because of the baseball game and being in walking distance of the ball park.

I would not recommend this to families. But if your on a guy trip and don't really care about the quality. This place is great!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    94
    56
    71
See reviews for
68
97
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana/KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Enough said. We will not stay here again even if it is convenient to the bridge and aquarium. When we arrived, there was only 1 tiny soap, no ashtrays (we had a smoking room), no clock, the lights were not plugged in, on and on. The second day, I had to run down the hall to get the cleaning room guy and ask that he at least empty our trash. Go out for breakfast, if you decide to stay. We will not --- to say this was a disappointment is an understatement. Not again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy but it is so nice to be able to walk to the Aquarium and to the Hofbrau haus too ! It was clean and neat. Had a fridge and microwave which helps a bunch ! The pool was nice too .....can not beat it !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is a little old and could certainly use some renovation. That said, our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. No bathtub, but the shower had recently been redone and upgraded. Our room had a fridge and microwave. Free breakfast was very basic, but it met our needs.

Location is great. Right next to the hotel is the bridge you can walk across the river and puts you right at the Red's ballpark and only a short walk to the football stadium. It appeared that almost everyone at the hotel that night was going to the game. The hotel is also just a couple of blocks from the Newport on the Levy complex.

Only real negatives: I was first given keys to a room that was already occupied. So went back and they gave me the right room. During the night one of the guest in the two floor above me vomited off their balcony. Landed on my car. Not a pretty sight. But when I told the front office staff, they had someone come out and clean my car off. And they did a very good job.

Price was good for the location and free parking close the the ballpark was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

You've read bad reviews of this hotel , I had too , but I was traveling mid-week on a budget and stayed here anyway . Hot and humid June , but the AC was fine , the pool was clean . The immediate area is not bad , next door is the aquarium , Amc movies , five guys burgers , etc , trolley stop for easy ride across the bridge for Reds or Bengals ,($1) or easy walk . My room was big , although my sink was clogged . :(,But the city view was nice ! For an older hotel , you get what you get .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salford, manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel in cincinatti back in April - it was very basic and quite shabby and dirty. Not very impressive but we did not book it to spend a long time in it. The breakfast was poor - it is better to eat out.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Riverfront Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Riverfront Travelodge

Address: 222 York St., Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Riverfront Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newport Riverfront Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Riverfront Travelodge Hotel Newport
Travelodge Newport
Newport Travelodge
Newport Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Riverfront Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.