We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated - but fantastic location makes it worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Riverfront Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Riverfront Travelodge to your Saves list
Newport Riverfront Travelodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   222 York St., Newport, KY 41071   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dated - but fantastic location makes it worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Typical budget motel, dated and musty. HOWEVER, it was an excellent location. Ohio riverfront, right beside a nice bridge to downtown. Easy walking distance to downtown. Stayed here prior to running in the flying pig marathon. We ran right past the motel which was great. I got to see my family during the run and they didn't have to try to drive around downtown.

Room Tip: Stay on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contact_travelodge, Manager at Newport Riverfront Travelodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. The Travelodge has been in Newport Kentucky for several decades, but we are under new management and undergoing renovations that will make us sparkle once again.
The location as you noted is incredible! We are within walking distance from the Newport Aquarium, Ball Brown Stadium, Great American Ball Park, US Bank Arena.
We hope that you will try us again, maybe even one of our balcony rooms that overlooks the river and the Cincinnati Skyline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    94
    56
    71
See reviews for
68
97
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, WV
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is what helps this hotel get booked. When we pulled up to this hotel there was a very few cars in the lot. We went to check in (before 3:00pm) and our room was not ready, so we went to the Cincinnati Zoo which was about 20 minutes away and then came back around 5:00p, and another woman was working the desk. Not friendly at all; we tried asking her what places she would recommend to eat at and she just ignored us. I believe her name may have been Linda. She was the younger of the women working. Anyhow we get to our room, and I was very upset with the room. First: ******YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR OWN CONTROLS FOR HEAT OR AIR***** The front desk controls the whole hotel. It was around 70 during the day and 50 at night which I think is cool and they said they have not turned the heat on yet but we had air conditioner. I thought that was CRAZY!!!!!!! Then I look in the bathroom and there was no tub only a shower. I would stay here again just for the location. You are right beside the bridge and Newport on the Levee. If you are going stay just a few nights and wont be in your room much, i would stay here. The price really isn't the best for what you get, but remember the LOCATION is awesome!!!!

Room Tip: I would get a room with a balcony and hopefully a bath tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contact_travelodge, Manager at Newport Riverfront Travelodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
The Travelodge is under new management, and I regret that we were not here in time for your stay. We are making great strides in improving this property.
Our location is wonderful!! Being at the River Front allows a person to walk across the Purple People Bridge and be right at the Bengals Stadium, The Cincinnati Reds Ball Park or the US Bank Arena. Also, our river front rooms offer a beatuiful view of the Cincinnati Sky Line, especially at night!
We ask that you do consider us once again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Heights
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

That basically says it all. I just stayed there for concert in October it was a great location and walking distance to the arena. But little did I know I would find a cockroach 45 minutes before checkout! (Had I found it the night b4 I would have left!) I called the front desk because I didn't want to cause a big scene and the lady didn't even apologize and just said "well if you come down to the front desk I can give you something for that!" Not even the least bit shocked at all! Then I said if I bring them home with me I'm gonna be pissed and told her I'm not paying for the room. and she said "I understand, I can give you a discount but I can't refund your whole amount." They only took $20 off. I will never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contact_travelodge, Manager at Newport Riverfront Travelodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I can definitely understand your disgust at what you found. We have recently gone under new management and we are working with Terminix to make stays like this a thing of the past. Regretfully, this comes after your stay.
We are cleaning out the entire hotel and making changes daily to give guest what they are paying for, a decent, clean, restful stay.
I greatly apologize for your experiences and hope that in the future you would consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Riverfront Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Riverfront Travelodge

Address: 222 York St., Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Riverfront Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newport Riverfront Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Riverfront Travelodge Hotel Newport
Travelodge Newport
Newport Travelodge
Newport Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Riverfront Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.