We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Rockets - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny Rockets
1 Levee Way, Newport, KY 41071-1652
859-581-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greasy and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

1950s themed burger and shake place - fun for the kids, I suppose, but the food is greasy and overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very convenient to drop in if you are visiting Newport on the Levee. The food at any Johnny Rockets is always good! The service here was very slow but the employees were nice. The restaraunt was clean and nicely decorated. The one thing that always hurts any visit to Johnny Rockets is the price, a bit expensive. I am not sure the "gimmick" is worth the expensive price!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible service, mediocre food, way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Do NOT recommend. Three adults and one child dined here 12-29-11. Two of us ordered sliders and then the waitress came back and said they were out of buns for the sliders. I asked if we could order something else and she said she had already entered the order. ARE YOU SERIOUS? Waitress went to the manager and came back to our table and said we could only order a single burger, no doubles. I should have left at this point, but two of us ordered burgers. The burgers we ordered were less $ than the sliders and when the bill arrived we were charged for the higher priced sliders. Will NEVER dine at Johnny Rockets again! NOTE: 2 burgers, 1 philly steak sandwich, 1 child mini dogs, 2 fries (1 w/cheese & bacon), 3 waters and 1 child shake was $47.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We ordered 3 adult cheeseburgers, 1 order of onion rings, 1 order of fries, 2 kids meals, 2 soda's, and 3 milkshakes. Our total was $80! The food was good, but extremely overpriced. The food was worth maybe $30. The service was very good. The atmosphere was no different than a Steak n Shake. I could not go back there now that I know how much it costs.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good burgers, not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The portions are large, very good burgers and fries. It was a little bit expensive, but I guess that's part of being in the "tourist" levee area. We will go back, but not often.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Rockets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.