We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip down the Ohio River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BB Riverboats

BB Riverboats
101 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071
859-261-8500
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sightseeing cruises on the Ohio River.
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip down the Ohio River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Took the Sunday eveing Jazz river boat buffett and cruise, the band was excellant, the food was ok, plenty to go around, this is a full 2 hrs and worht the money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    26
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant little trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took the grandkids, short but enjoyable, Used an Entertainment Book Coupon. Good beer on board! Their longer dinner cruise would be nice!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fun for 12 year olds Birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took my son and my nephew on this dinner cruise for their 12th birthdays. They had a blast. The food was not good. The atmosphere was dated and dirty looking. The staff was friendly and our family had fun watching the boys. If my husband took me hear for my birthday or anniversary I would kill him!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely cruise, but buffet food was 'meh'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a group of 9 and did the Saturday evening dinner cruise. The check-in process was easy, and it felt like we were boarding a real cruise boat. Our table was seated at a window, which was great. But, disappointment soon hit us: The food was plain as could be. As soon as dinner was over, we all headed to the top deck and found a spot overlooking the stern/paddlewheel (Happiness again!) and sat at the little tables outside. THAT MADE THE NIGHT! We loved, loved, loved the trip down the river, and the fun music the DJ piped throughout the boat was appropriate for all ages--1970's-today--very danceable! But, the buffet food was bland and uninspired. The presentation was pretty--it was just mediocre tasting--think Denneys for dinner. For $50 a person, we wanted something more delicious. They should get rid of dinner and just serve appetizers. The drinks from the bar were extra, but fairly priced--a decent glass of white wine overlooking the river with your friends and family makes for a lovely time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberty112
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, fun to be on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We took an afternoon ride on the BB Riverboats and very much enjoyed it. The captain of the boat shared little tidbits and pieces of history as we traversed down the river. On the way back up the river the captain was quiet and didn't say anything. My father who I was with said he wished there would have been more details on the way back up the river, but it didn't bother me any. It was a relaxing trip and an enjoyable one! I would definitely recommend this for couples, families, or a solo trip. Photography opportunites are wide as you can capture views from the water that most people don't get to be up close to. Definitely would enjoy this again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BB Riverboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BB Riverboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.