We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool aquarium with unique things to see.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Aquarium

Newport Aquarium
1 Aquarium Way, Newport, KY 41071
1-800-406-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Newport
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated #1 U.S. Aquarium by Readers’ Choice Travel Awards and #1 Aquarium in the Midwest by Zagat Survey. Home to thousands of aquatic animals in scores of exhibits, the Newport Aquarium will amaze you with all there is to see and do. You can touch a penguin, pet a shark, hear divers talk to the audience during feeding time, play games in Frog Bog, eat lunch in Sharkey's Cafe and a much, much more!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A cool aquarium with unique things to see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

To me aquariums are usually boring. We went on Christmas Eve and I was pleasantly surprised. It was more than just looking at hundreds of boring fish. We saw them feed the penguins, we fed parrots, saw a 15 ft alligator, giant octopus, and hundreds of other things. We have young kids and there was a lot for them to do and interact with too. The area the aquarium is in is also cool. There are shops, places to eat and a great view of the river. Maybe i enjoyed it so much because it was a holiday and not busy but I would recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much! We are glad you had a good time. We work hard to make sure there is plenty to see and do when you come visit. Hope you can come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    266
    113
    33
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ST, Anthony Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“all age's like this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the better places I have been. It is a bit pricey but there is a lot to see. The shows are great and the under water tunnel is something to see, along with the walk that lets you look in the top of the tanks. The food is not too bad. I would recommend for any age.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for this fine review! Do come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the build up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'd been waiting to visit this attraction for a while, and couldn't have been more disappointed by the actual product... maybe it was the time of year, but there just didn't seem like much going on to keep my or my kid's attention

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyable for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just passing through and decided to stretch our legs for a couple hours! We have been to many large to small and nice to run down aquariums in the past! We as adults enjoyed our visit. We found the aquarium to be very interesting and set up different then many of the others we have been too. We spent about an hour and half in the aquarium (2 adults no kids) . Workers could be more friendly. To be more specific, I mean the ticket people were not friendly, concessions were not friendly. The gift shop woman was very pleasant. Lots of food choices when you get the Cafe. Parking was easy! Exhibits were wonderful and the variety of aquatic life was a nice sight to see. All in all we enjoyed our visit. Looking forward to taking my kids there someday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is wonderful. There are so many different things to see. Every kind of aquatic animal is in display. You walk though tunnels with fish swimming overhead or under your feet. I would go back.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you! We are happy to know you had a good time! Please do come again when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.