We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munfordville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Munfordville B&B and Inns
Lakewood, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Darlene is amazing! She has incredible attention to detail and created such a memorable experience for me and my family (with two small children). Attention to detail includes lovely homemade soaps in the bathrooms (speaking of bathrooms, I had the privilege of staying in two different rooms and the shower/jacuzzi tub in both were AMAZING!), she is VERY generous with breakfast and it's served on warmed plates. It was so fun to wake up to the crow of a rooster and the coffee was delicious. My children's faces lit up when feeding the chickens and collecting eggs. So fun! Rooms were beautiful, super clean! Lots of close-by attractions, but no need to leave for all of the activities in the basement. I would stay again in a heart beat!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

An excellent Bed and Breakfast, exactly as described on its website. Everything is clean, the breakfast fantastic, and it's very friendly to children who, between cave excursions, can play ping pong, pool, or pick eggs on the farm. The surroundings are beautiful with Amish farms and small villages. It's located some 30 minutes from Cave City, and even closer to other caves.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted by Darlene a nice farm lady. She gave us a tour and had many fun puzzles and games along with a home theatre. Unfortunately, because if a "liability" children must be on the same floor with their parents all the time. This tends to loosen up if she doesn't think your children are complete animals. Feeding the animals was fun, chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats, and horses. All personable animals. The breakfast was delicious except the fried eggs have hard yolks. The room was pretty and had a lovely waterfall jacuzzi. She has a huge selection of movies of all sorts too. It's about 30 mins from Mammoth Cave Nat'l Park. Overall a great stay and we're coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we arrived our hostess wasn't there to greet us. We picked up our keys and let ourselves in the farmers room. This room was nice and clean with a handicapped shower. The bed was very comfortable. It is on the main floor next to the outside door. If we were truly handicapped and in a wheelchair instead of just having knee problems like us, this B & B is not for you. There r no ramps to get into the house and no way to get to the basement for movies or games. There are also no tv in the house except in Darlene's room. The breakfast on our first day was very good. There were about 8 of us guest. There were only 4 the next day and breakfast was ok. We are not allowed to bring our dogs but Darlene has two little dogs and one huge German Shepard in the kitchen. It was a nice quiet place to get some rest. We are country people ourselves but didn't hear any clip clip of Amish Buggy's or get to relax on the porch much like the website said. That being said, this place was a little disappointing. But for city people with kids they might enjoy it more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our road trip through kentucky, the B&B is located in a beautiful rural area just outside Munfordville. The owner Darlene is exceptionally friendly and went to great lengths to ensure we had a nice stay. She gave us directions to a few local towns for dinner and we ended up at the Whistle Stop in Glendale which was quite a unique experience! The rooms are lovely and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Our bathroom was spotless and had the biggest bath tub I have ever seen! The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed talking with Darlene and the other guests. Overall I would recommend this place to others based on its lovely homely feel and the genuine kindness of the proprietor. Well worth a stop off if you find yourself in Amish country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful spring break here. Our 10 year old daughter considered it a "dream home" because of all there was to do such as the collecting eggs, feeding animals and a big game room. Breakfasts were very good and, once we did leave, there were many different caves nearby, hiking and some interesting history. Rooms were very inviting, comfortable. Thanks to Darlene and daughters for warm hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Had a wonderful time for our first visit to Kentucky. Our 9 and 12 year old granddaughters AND their grandparents loved the farm, We are city folks and loved learning about feeding chickens, rabbits and horses. We gathered the most eggs so far this year: 101. There are 101 hens. Spring has arrived. Darlene is a great hostess inn keeper. Her breakfasts are marvelous-farm fresh eggs that we helped gather the day before, delicious baked goods, and fresh fruit. She will accommodate any type of diet if needed. The "play room" down stairs was pure fun. We all played pin-pong, worked on a jigsaw puzzle, watched a movie, and enjoyed the wall of pictures including "What was I thinking?" and "Beautiful". We stayed in the spacious Pioneer room and its adjoining room for the girls. We were very comfortable. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice surprise.
Darlene recommended Cub Run Caves in addition to our planned trip to Mammoth Caves. I'm so glad she did. Linda Cook, the tour guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This cave is very different with many formations that you see up close and personal. The walk ways make it easy to enjoy what you see; you do not need to worry about climbing 288 stairs up and down- there are only 12 stairs here. Don't miss this Cub Run Cave.
Darlene shared a map of Barn Quilts and we easily found 12 nearby- a treat for grandma! We'd highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765
Location: United States > Kentucky > Munfordville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Munfordville
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.