We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munfordville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Munfordville B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we arrived our hostess wasn't there to greet us. We picked up our keys and let ourselves in the farmers room. This room was nice and clean with a handicapped shower. The bed was very comfortable. It is on the main floor next to the outside door. If we were truly handicapped and in a wheelchair instead of just having knee problems like us, this B & B is not for you. There r no ramps to get into the house and no way to get to the basement for movies or games. There are also no tv in the house except in Darlene's room. The breakfast on our first day was very good. There were about 8 of us guest. There were only 4 the next day and breakfast was ok. We are not allowed to bring our dogs but Darlene has two little dogs and one huge German Shepard in the kitchen. It was a nice quiet place to get some rest. We are country people ourselves but didn't hear any clip clip of Amish Buggy's or get to relax on the porch much like the website said. That being said, this place was a little disappointing. But for city people with kids they might enjoy it more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our road trip through kentucky, the B&B is located in a beautiful rural area just outside Munfordville. The owner Darlene is exceptionally friendly and went to great lengths to ensure we had a nice stay. She gave us directions to a few local towns for dinner and we ended up at the Whistle Stop in Glendale which was quite a unique experience! The rooms are lovely and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Our bathroom was spotless and had the biggest bath tub I have ever seen! The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed talking with Darlene and the other guests. Overall I would recommend this place to others based on its lovely homely feel and the genuine kindness of the proprietor. Well worth a stop off if you find yourself in Amish country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful spring break here. Our 10 year old daughter considered it a "dream home" because of all there was to do such as the collecting eggs, feeding animals and a big game room. Breakfasts were very good and, once we did leave, there were many different caves nearby, hiking and some interesting history. Rooms were very inviting, comfortable. Thanks to Darlene and daughters for warm hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Had a wonderful time for our first visit to Kentucky. Our 9 and 12 year old granddaughters AND their grandparents loved the farm, We are city folks and loved learning about feeding chickens, rabbits and horses. We gathered the most eggs so far this year: 101. There are 101 hens. Spring has arrived. Darlene is a great hostess inn keeper. Her breakfasts are marvelous-farm fresh eggs that we helped gather the day before, delicious baked goods, and fresh fruit. She will accommodate any type of diet if needed. The "play room" down stairs was pure fun. We all played pin-pong, worked on a jigsaw puzzle, watched a movie, and enjoyed the wall of pictures including "What was I thinking?" and "Beautiful". We stayed in the spacious Pioneer room and its adjoining room for the girls. We were very comfortable. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice surprise.
Darlene recommended Cub Run Caves in addition to our planned trip to Mammoth Caves. I'm so glad she did. Linda Cook, the tour guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This cave is very different with many formations that you see up close and personal. The walk ways make it easy to enjoy what you see; you do not need to worry about climbing 288 stairs up and down- there are only 12 stairs here. Don't miss this Cub Run Cave.
Darlene shared a map of Barn Quilts and we easily found 12 nearby- a treat for grandma! We'd highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are from the Napa Valley where B&B's are expected to be pretentious and stuffy. What a pleasure it was to travel to this beautiful part of Kentucky and experience true down-home hospitality on a working farm. Darlene is the no nonsense straight forward proprietor who has a heart of gold and plenty of stories to match. Her home is full of interesting knick knacks, unique antiques and wonderful local artistry. The Patriot room we stayed in was perfect The play room downstairs was just right for our niece and the wide selection of movies is very family friendly. The farm is fun for kids and peaceful for the adults. Long walks while enjoying great views and scenery should be on your time budget for this stay.
We also enjoyed the wonderful scenery while on our way from this B&B to Mammoth Caves and the Bourbon Trail distilleries. We could have spent a few more days enjoying Darlene's fantastic and very filling breakfasts (we never had to eat lunch!) while touring the local attractions. While you are there don't forget to enjoy the Warrior Poets CD, a unique compilation of songs performed by Darlene's very talented daughters. Would love to go back for a "jamming on the porch" experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stay in bed and breakfasts when I travel and was looking forward to getting away. Upon arrival with luggage in hand, the proprietor talked and talked for about 45 minutes until we were shown our room. I am not sure if we got a word in edgewise and plus, after driving for several hours to get here, we wanted to put up our feet. Don't get me wrong, the proprietor is very friendly but just talked incessantly about how the house was built, how to use the projector and to not erase the chalkboard of drawings that previous people had drawn on.

Our room was extremly clean and spacious as well as our bathroom. We were told how to get to Munfordville (after 33 curves) and when we did, many places were closed because it was the weekend. We did get some deli food from the local IGA and take it back to eat. Because it was very cold outside, we sat in front of the stove and enjoyed the fire.

The breakfast was good but I wasn't sure about "taking a mug" from the very long table. I don't know how long they had been there and wiped mine out to just be sure. All the cups and mugs were on the dining table and with the dustiness of the room, I wasn't sure how long they were there before I was to use it.

The pros to my stay were the comfy (non-cluttered) bedroom, the breakfast, and sitting in front of the wood-burning stove).

The cons were the cluttered downstairs and basement (dust everywhere), the lack of awareness from the proprietor when we arrived, and even though I loved her little dogs, the front of the downstairs (where the kitchen and "shop" were) smelled very strongly of wet dog. Kind of off-putting.

I know this is a running farm and I expect it to be, but since I have stayed at many farms, this was the least of my favorites. Would I return? Probably not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights early October, we virtually had the place to ourselves, Rooms very comfortable, we has the artisan room bed comfy, bathroom was spotless, breakfast was not huge, which for me is good as some BB breakfast can be overwhelming.

Note I did not find out until I went out that areas around here are DRY, so check where you go for dinner because if you want a wine or beer with it you may be out of luck

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765
Location: United States > Kentucky > Munfordville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Munfordville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;