We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munfordville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #1 of 2 Munfordville B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our road trip through kentucky, the B&B is located in a beautiful rural area just outside Munfordville. The owner Darlene is exceptionally friendly and went to great lengths to ensure we had a nice stay. She gave us directions to a few local towns for dinner and we ended up at the Whistle Stop in Glendale which was quite a unique experience! The rooms are lovely and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Our bathroom was spotless and had the biggest bath tub I have ever seen! The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed talking with Darlene and the other guests. Overall I would recommend this place to others based on its lovely homely feel and the genuine kindness of the proprietor. Well worth a stop off if you find yourself in Amish country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful spring break here. Our 10 year old daughter considered it a "dream home" because of all there was to do such as the collecting eggs, feeding animals and a big game room. Breakfasts were very good and, once we did leave, there were many different caves nearby, hiking and some interesting history. Rooms were very inviting, comfortable. Thanks to Darlene and daughters for warm hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Had a wonderful time for our first visit to Kentucky. Our 9 and 12 year old granddaughters AND their grandparents loved the farm, We are city folks and loved learning about feeding chickens, rabbits and horses. We gathered the most eggs so far this year: 101. There are 101 hens. Spring has arrived. Darlene is a great hostess inn keeper. Her breakfasts are marvelous-farm fresh eggs that we helped gather the day before, delicious baked goods, and fresh fruit. She will accommodate any type of diet if needed. The "play room" down stairs was pure fun. We all played pin-pong, worked on a jigsaw puzzle, watched a movie, and enjoyed the wall of pictures including "What was I thinking?" and "Beautiful". We stayed in the spacious Pioneer room and its adjoining room for the girls. We were very comfortable. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice surprise.
Darlene recommended Cub Run Caves in addition to our planned trip to Mammoth Caves. I'm so glad she did. Linda Cook, the tour guide, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This cave is very different with many formations that you see up close and personal. The walk ways make it easy to enjoy what you see; you do not need to worry about climbing 288 stairs up and down- there are only 12 stairs here. Don't miss this Cub Run Cave.
Darlene shared a map of Barn Quilts and we easily found 12 nearby- a treat for grandma! We'd highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are from the Napa Valley where B&B's are expected to be pretentious and stuffy. What a pleasure it was to travel to this beautiful part of Kentucky and experience true down-home hospitality on a working farm. Darlene is the no nonsense straight forward proprietor who has a heart of gold and plenty of stories to match. Her home is full of interesting knick knacks, unique antiques and wonderful local artistry. The Patriot room we stayed in was perfect The play room downstairs was just right for our niece and the wide selection of movies is very family friendly. The farm is fun for kids and peaceful for the adults. Long walks while enjoying great views and scenery should be on your time budget for this stay.
We also enjoyed the wonderful scenery while on our way from this B&B to Mammoth Caves and the Bourbon Trail distilleries. We could have spent a few more days enjoying Darlene's fantastic and very filling breakfasts (we never had to eat lunch!) while touring the local attractions. While you are there don't forget to enjoy the Warrior Poets CD, a unique compilation of songs performed by Darlene's very talented daughters. Would love to go back for a "jamming on the porch" experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stay in bed and breakfasts when I travel and was looking forward to getting away. Upon arrival with luggage in hand, the proprietor talked and talked for about 45 minutes until we were shown our room. I am not sure if we got a word in edgewise and plus, after driving for several hours to get here, we wanted to put up our feet. Don't get me wrong, the proprietor is very friendly but just talked incessantly about how the house was built, how to use the projector and to not erase the chalkboard of drawings that previous people had drawn on.

Our room was extremly clean and spacious as well as our bathroom. We were told how to get to Munfordville (after 33 curves) and when we did, many places were closed because it was the weekend. We did get some deli food from the local IGA and take it back to eat. Because it was very cold outside, we sat in front of the stove and enjoyed the fire.

The breakfast was good but I wasn't sure about "taking a mug" from the very long table. I don't know how long they had been there and wiped mine out to just be sure. All the cups and mugs were on the dining table and with the dustiness of the room, I wasn't sure how long they were there before I was to use it.

The pros to my stay were the comfy (non-cluttered) bedroom, the breakfast, and sitting in front of the wood-burning stove).

The cons were the cluttered downstairs and basement (dust everywhere), the lack of awareness from the proprietor when we arrived, and even though I loved her little dogs, the front of the downstairs (where the kitchen and "shop" were) smelled very strongly of wet dog. Kind of off-putting.

I know this is a running farm and I expect it to be, but since I have stayed at many farms, this was the least of my favorites. Would I return? Probably not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights early October, we virtually had the place to ourselves, Rooms very comfortable, we has the artisan room bed comfy, bathroom was spotless, breakfast was not huge, which for me is good as some BB breakfast can be overwhelming.

Note I did not find out until I went out that areas around here are DRY, so check where you go for dinner because if you want a wine or beer with it you may be out of luck

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnieville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Mrs. Darlene is a friend of and we have the Olde Mill Stone Restaurant in Bonnieville Ky just minutes for her Mrs. Darlene sends us her quest to eat and enjoy our southern home cooking food grandmothers recipes we have our secret battering for our famous pork chops famous chix tenders and our homemade blackberry cobbler and buttermilk pie so thank you Mrs Darlene we are located at 7526 N Dixie Hwy Bonnieville ky and open another one called Lil Taste of Home in 200 E Union St Munfordville Ky right behind the old court house in a building that was built in 1933 this is a town you would want to visit so visit mrs Darlene

Room Tip: I not stay the night I visit I am a friend I could go and sat there all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Munfordville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Munfordville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Girl At Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast is an interactive farm stay. We have chickens, ducks, goats, horses, rabbits and several dogs & cats...All doing their part to make your stay enjoyable. Our 5 themed bedrooms honor people groups and we have 2 suite options included, all with their own private bathrooms. A ramp gives guests who prefer no stairs great access to all of the first floor and we even have a handicap accessible bedroom & bath on the first floor for your convenience. Our delicious breakfasts are enjoyed by guests together at 8 AM Central Time amid lively conversations, and then all are invited to meet & feed some of our livestock as well. The first floor Great Room has comfy couches & footstools, a rather large marble table for a game of cards, board game or a computer if you must, a player piano, and Library area filled with material on country living, gardening, sustainable life and cookbooks as well as books for children. Our guests can enjoy more active fun in the Basement Rec Room with Ping Pong, Pool, Foosball, Air Hockey, Puzzles, and a Movie area as well as books, games & dress up for the youngsters. Off the Farm, there are wonderful caves to explore, horses to ride, antique treasures to find, rocks to repel, zip lines to maneuver, and water & animal parks to enjoy! Local folks at local restaurants love to visit with you too! This area has something for everyone! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.