We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal farm experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munfordville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #1 of 2 Munfordville B&B and Inns
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal farm experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights this week at Country Girl Bed & Breakfast and could not have been more pleased. The innkeeper Darlene is an excellent host and made us feel welcome right away. The lowest floor of the inn is dedicated to children's activities, though the adults may enjoy it, too. Comraderie among guests was great. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. After Darlene's delicious breakfast, we were able to feed the chickens, horses, goats, and rabbits. We also gathered the eggs. Darlene excelled at showing the other guests' children how it's all done. Thank you, Darlene, for a wonderful few days! We'll definitely be back and bring our grandchildren.

Room Tip: All the guests seemed pleased with their rooms. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary here. The whimsical eclectic decor, the
eco friendly farm environment was creatively inspirational. The breakfast was exquisitely prepared by the owner "Darlene". Her stories, laughter and energy are infectious, captivating and
comforting. Memories of childhood summers on my grandparents farm came flooding back to me as we enjoyed each others company in the quiet. Each room has a story and every nook and cranny is filled with treasures to be discovered. The local activities, Amish markets and small town
stores spaced within 10 to 20 minutes of the farm are fascinating.
We gathered eggs, fed the horses, chickens and experienced a side of life that the city doesn't offer. I highly recommend spending the week. We only had two days and though we had the most relaxing enjoyable time, we discovered that there was more to do and explore than two days would allow. We plan to return soon, bringing our grand children. We want them to share the friendly atmosphere the farm provides and see that there is more to living life than computers, cellphones, and television. Highly recommend for couples, families, or those who just need to get away.

Room Tip: The Artisan room had the best view of the farm. It's on the furthest back corner of the house an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My Husband and I drove down from Cincinnati to for a weekend getaway. It was a lovely experience. It was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast and we loved it. Darlene was awesome, the room was amazing, the breakfasts superb, in a nutshell everything was perfect. We took advantage of a massage on Saturday night which helped add to our overall relaxing weekend. We enjoyed going out into the farm before sightseeing at nearby attractions. We loved it and are definitely thinking of repeating the visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic! Eclectic! Experience! Hospitable !! Darlene gave my the two of us a wonderful tour - even though we arrived unannounced and imposed ourselves on her...
We loved it - well worth the drive. We didn't know about the minimum 12 people and pre-booking arrangement - but will endeavour to take a party of friends to sample the fare - which I'm sure will be as delightful as the hostess. Good LUCK Darlene - wishing you the best!

Room Tip: We only popped in to view - cannot help with any tips. - all the rooms have a great historical story...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squaw Valley, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stay in hotels often but had not tried a bed and breakfast until now...and boy let me tell you, there is NO going back!
The website of this B & B just not do it justice; the house itself is enormous, standing way out from any other in the local area of surrounding farms. The house is split, one side being the owners and the other side for guests.
Miss Darlene is never far away though, she keeps her doors open and is always fluttering through checking on things, but never in a bothersome way of course. Darlene is the owner/operator along with help from her grown daughters.
The 'great room' is a hall really, one massive room adorned with an ecclectic style of decor from floor to ceiling. There are plenty of sitting areas, and quite a variety of such, to sit with a small group near the bookshelfs which are filled with random items to interest most any reader; to a unique sectional couch surrounding the wood burning stove.
There are antiques and personal touches everywhere you look in this great room, with the dining room as your entry, i believe she can sit around 50 people in one long table with an assortment of colorful chairs, plus the few small tables lining the room for a more private experience.
There is also no seat in the house without a fabulous view through one of the dozens of big bay windows! Amish country surrounds this farm and it is just fabulous to get lost in the view!
The farm itself was really a treat for our seven year old daughter; she helped Darlene feed chickens, gather eggs, feed bunnies, carrots to the horses and break up the ice in the animals drinking water. She had a herd of chickens following her, which was adorable.
Our room was The Patriot Room; sitting at the corner of the second floor with windows to the farm side and the other to the western sunset. The room is good size, with a couch that pulls out to a bed, a sitting chair, COMFY queen size bed and tons of patriotic history of the civil war all around you.
The bathroom we were most impressed with; the room itself is good size but the shower area is quite large! There is a big jetted tub in the center of a custom tiled area. The tub fills via waterfall faucet, which we really liked. The shower faucet pours down into the center of the tub in such a way that when you are showering you feel as if you are showering somewhere wild almost, hard to explain really, but it was just the most special shower idea Ive ever experienced.
The entire home is kept clean, ornate and homey. We much enjoyed the basement level game room...literally for hours on our 3 day stay. There is nothing you cannot find craft-wise down there! there are chalkboard walls, old wooden train sets, musical instruments, a theater for movie watching, crank radios for music, paints, paper, foosball, pool table, ping pong, the list goes on!

I really could write all day about our stay, so I will just stop here!

We made this b and b our destination for 3 days for the 3 of us and came home happy, relaxed, refreshed and full of good memories. Please dont hesitate giving this b and b a try!

Room Tip: The Patriot room is a corner room with 2 huge bay windows with major views and a fabulous bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I needed to get away from everything and everybody. I looked up several B&B I found Country Girl At Heart Farm B&B, this was the one by far. We stayed two nights in the Farmers room. It was most relaxing, plan on going back soon. Darlene was excellent cook very friendly, very helpful. Lucy her dog was so cute. Michael & Sandy Williams

Room Tip: n/a Only stayed in one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hubby & I wanted to attend a play at KY Repertoire Theatre in Horse Cave. Looked at finding a motel and came upon this lovely B&B. Never having spent the night in a B&B, we thought we would try it. Wonderful experience. Darlene (and Lucy, her dog) are so easy going and friendly! And the other guests were also great to talk to. We felt so welcome in the Inn by our hostess as well as the other guests. Our breakfast was delicious and well presented. We left very happy, fully sated and knowing we would go back for another visit.

Peggy K

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6230 Priceville Road, Munfordville, KY 42765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Munfordville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Munfordville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Girl At Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast is an interactive farm stay. We have chickens, ducks, goats, horses, rabbits and several dogs & cats...All doing their part to make your stay enjoyable. Our 5 themed bedrooms honor people groups and we have 2 suite options included, all with their own private bathrooms. A ramp gives guests who prefer no stairs great access to all of the first floor and we even have a handicap accessible bedroom & bath on the first floor for your convenience. Our delicious breakfasts are enjoyed by guests together at 8 AM Central Time amid lively conversations, and then all are invited to meet & feed some of our livestock as well. The first floor Great Room has comfy couches & footstools, a rather large marble table for a game of cards, board game or a computer if you must, a player piano, and Library area filled with material on country living, gardening, sustainable life and cookbooks as well as books for children. Our guests can enjoy more active fun in the Basement Rec Room with Ping Pong, Pool, Foosball, Air Hockey, Puzzles, and a Movie area as well as books, games & dress up for the youngsters. Off the Farm, there are wonderful caves to explore, horses to ride, antique treasures to find, rocks to repel, zip lines to maneuver, and water & animal parks to enjoy! Local folks at local restaurants love to visit with you too! This area has something for everyone! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Girl at Heart Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.