We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corio Bay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Corio Bay Motel to your Saves list
Corio Bay Motel
292-296 Princes Highway, Corio, Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It certainly isn't The Ritz, but for $75 a night including breakfast it does the job.
Friendly service, great price and ample breakfast mean that you can overlook the tired bathroom and yesteryear decor.
My room was near the back; the motel's on the main highway but I wasn't disturbed by road noise.
The 4-star rating is a reflection of the value for money.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Try for one near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family stayed in room 19 at Corio Bay Motel we asked about the $75.00 and $85.00 deal sign out the front of the motel and the young lady at reception informed me that price was only for 1 Queen Bed, so not suitable for my family, so that was fine. We went to our room, to find it was exactly the same as the photo advertised on wotif, although basic it was clean and comfortable, not 5 star quality, but you get what you pay for. + a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Run by very friendly people, great value for money! Very clean & everything you need from a motel room.
Breakfast is an added bonus in the morning, my little girl is very impressed with the variety of breakfast cereals & there is fruit juice, coffee & toast available aswell.
Very happy with service, will Definately be returning :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked by 'phone for the 8 days across the airshow period and quoted $100 per night, quite competitive. On arrival told me first night would be $75 and others $100, so they dont try to get the last drop of money out of you (see my review of Aberdenn Motor Inn).

Old budget motel, recently repainted and quite clean and comfortable. Small rooms, typical of a budget motel. No hanging space in room 10 so I asked and was immediately moved to room 11. Tea making facilities, fridge, TV and microwave in the room. On the main road, but there is a wall and I did not find noise at night a problem. Complimentary continental breakfast each morning. No pool.

Very friendly people run it, helpful. $3 in the slot washing machine, $1 for dryer, again very satisfactory - did a load for $5.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a saturday night. The girl at reception was fantastic and helpful. We were in room 19 on the bottom floor. The room while outdated was clean and comfortable. No trouble at all with road noise at all. The only downside was the handle to the toilet fell of and there is no basin in the shower toilet room but in the room next to the fridge. All up it was cheap clean and great if passing through geelong.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Corio Bay Motel on the 1st of December. I stayed in an downstairs double room with my friend and we had an excellent stay. From the moment we walked in we were greeted and told everything we needed to know such as the location of the room, a breakfast room and free wifi! As we were catching a plane out of the Melbourne airport the women in reception was more then helpful, she explained the way to get there and gave us a map. The room was neat and tidy. It had everything we needed for our stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone, even for a old motel it surprised me from the moment i stepped in to the reception, the service was just great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stopped over at this motel during the way to the great ocean drive I took in AUS, the locale is near a railway crossing and there's also a fuel station nearby- handy for filling up the gas tank. The rooms were nice and clean, with provisions for making coffee and also had a fridge. The beds were nice. The toilets were ok in the strictest sense. Early morning breakfast in the mess is an average affair, as you can expect from a drive in motel. Don't expect to be blown away by the motel, it's clean and good enough for a nights sleep, and should suffice for any long distance traveler.

Room Tip: Use Wotif to book rooms, you could get a nice deal. Be early for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corio Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corio Bay Motel

Address: 292-296 Princes Highway, Corio, Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Corio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for comfortable, convenient, affordable accommodation look no further than the Corio Bay Motel. The Corio Bay Motel is conveniently situated on the Princes Highway, Corio, only minutes from the Geelong CBD, and Arena and only minutes from Avalon Airport and the Jetstar/Tiger Airways terminal. Corio Bay Motel is the closest Motel to the Avalon Jetstar/Tiger Airways Terminal, Avalon Speedway, Beckley Park and Stead Park. Our 24 comfortable ensuite units offer: *Comfortable Queen or Twin Beds *R/C Air Cond. *Remote Flat Screen LCD TV *Alarm Clocks *FREE FOXTEL *Tea/Coffee *Toaster *Microwave *DD Telephones *Serviced Daily *All Non Smoking Rooms *Off Street Parking *Guest Laundry *Complimentary Light Breakfast In The Dining Room Each Morning 7.30am and 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Corio Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corio Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.