We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corio Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Corio Bay Motel to your Saves list
Corio Bay Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   292-296 Princes Highway, Corio, Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
frankston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a saturday night. The girl at reception was fantastic and helpful. We were in room 19 on the bottom floor. The room while outdated was clean and comfortable. No trouble at all with road noise at all. The only downside was the handle to the toilet fell of and there is no basin in the shower toilet room but in the room next to the fridge. All up it was cheap clean and great if passing through geelong.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Corio Bay Motel on the 1st of December. I stayed in an downstairs double room with my friend and we had an excellent stay. From the moment we walked in we were greeted and told everything we needed to know such as the location of the room, a breakfast room and free wifi! As we were catching a plane out of the Melbourne airport the women in reception was more then helpful, she explained the way to get there and gave us a map. The room was neat and tidy. It had everything we needed for our stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone, even for a old motel it surprised me from the moment i stepped in to the reception, the service was just great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stopped over at this motel during the way to the great ocean drive I took in AUS, the locale is near a railway crossing and there's also a fuel station nearby- handy for filling up the gas tank. The rooms were nice and clean, with provisions for making coffee and also had a fridge. The beds were nice. The toilets were ok in the strictest sense. Early morning breakfast in the mess is an average affair, as you can expect from a drive in motel. Don't expect to be blown away by the motel, it's clean and good enough for a nights sleep, and should suffice for any long distance traveler.

Room Tip: Use Wotif to book rooms, you could get a nice deal. Be early for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this motel due to it being close to Avalon Aiport for our early moring flight. The room itself was quite clean however the bathroom had a very strong smell of urine. It was so off putting that i could not actually shower in the morning. It is a cheap motel but not worth the money. It was also very noisy and I didn't feel safe leaving my car outside - the managers car was locked in a high cage!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stay in this motel a couple of times a year-staff are friendly and room rates are some of the best in Geelong. It is on the outskirts somewhat but a easy drive to many restaurants and the city. It is not 5 star but clean and well kept with fridge in room. Often full on weekends so book ahead-a budget motel which is good if you are busy out and about, not much around the property so not really a place hang out too much in and must have own transport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed there recently and found the accommodation wonderful. The bed was comfortable and i had an great night sleep. I was recommended to stay there by friends who stay there regularly.The room was small, clean and well appointed with crockery and a microwave. I enjoyed breakfast which didn't cost extra. Will definitely stay their again on our next trip :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This motel is definitely not worth it. I picked this hotel to stay in with my sister based on the good reviews - much to our disappointment. We were very glad we were only staying one night on the journey from the Great Ocean Road (Adelaide to Melbourne). We paid $110 on Wotif but when we arrived there was a banner advertising rooms for $85. The furnishings are dated and extremely basic, which meant that the room, although fairly clean, looked tired. There were insects in the room, we had to hide out in the small bathroom after spraying bug spray. The motel was located on a busy highway, you could hear the trucks from the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corio Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corio Bay Motel

Address: 292-296 Princes Highway, Corio, Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Geelong > Corio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corio Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for comfortable, convenient, affordable accommodation look no further than the Corio Bay Motel. The Corio Bay Motel is conveniently situated on the Princes Highway, Corio, only minutes from the Geelong CBD, and Arena and only minutes from Avalon Airport and the Jetstar/Tiger Airways terminal. Corio Bay Motel is the closest Motel to the Avalon Jetstar/Tiger Airways Terminal, Avalon Speedway, Beckley Park and Stead Park. Our 24 comfortable ensuite units offer: *Comfortable Queen or Twin Beds *R/C Air Cond. *Remote Flat Screen LCD TV *Alarm Clocks *FREE FOXTEL *Tea/Coffee *Toaster *Microwave *DD Telephones *Serviced Daily *All Non Smoking Rooms *Off Street Parking *Guest Laundry *Complimentary Light Breakfast In The Dining Room Each Morning 7.30am and 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Corio Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corio Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.