We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Barn Singin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Heritage Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added National Heritage Inn and Suites to your Saves list
National Heritage Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 Richmond Street, I-75 & U.S. 25, Exit 62, Mount Vernon, KY 40456 (Formerly Renfro Valley Heritage Inn And Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Barn Singin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very enjoyable time. Would recommend and travel here again. Hotel very close to attractions and very good food at the Historic Lodge Restaurant. Very friendly and helpful people at the ticket booth for the shows and at the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your recent stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
31
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ky.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel,we chose it because it was so very close to the music shows.Our room was very clean with comfortable beds.I was disappointed because there wasn't a refrigerator in the room.The breakfast had gravy and biscuits which is a must for my husband.There were hot and cold items.Scramble eggs were in the form of a disk and had to be heated in the microwave.They did not look appealing,but I tried them anyways and they tasted fine.The staff in every part of the hotel were very nice and willing to help in anyway.We did not use the pool,but the area was clean and nice.Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for noting the rooms were clean, comfortable and located close to your destination.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurelville, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here on July 11, 2014. Was told at check-in our room wasn't ready because they were making repairs to it. No problem as we went to get lunch nearby and give them time to finish their repairs. When we finally got our room it looked fairly clean. There were cigarette burns in the drapes and the bedspread and mold or stains on shower curtain. At bedtime they must have put a herd of elephants in room above us. They stomped back and forth on the floor for at least an hour going on midnight. Traffic noise was terrible and other guests did not know how to close their room doors without slamming them. And people in next room talking loud. The breakfast was so so. Nothing to write home about. Probably will not stay there again. Also they don't honor AAA or AARP on Friday and Saturday night. The price we paid for what we got was not even close to a fair trade. Have stayed at much better places for a lot less and friendlier people.

Room Tip: Maybe if rooms were to back of hotel instead of roadside they may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us.
While we could not accommodate a noon check-in, we were happy to be able to provide a 2 pm check-in for you and your husband. Our normal check-in time is 4 pm and weekends are a very busy time for us.
If you encounter any problems during your visit, please contact the front desk. Once we are aware of any disturbance we will act at once.
I recommend booking directly with a hotel to understand their rates, room types offered, and discount policy.
Thanks again for staying with us and once again, I hope you had a wonderful anniversary weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on July 3rd for the first time and I found it to be very pleasant and nice. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the last 15 years and I must say that this hotel smelled and felt the cleanest of all of them (even the expensive resort hotels). The room was very nice and it was very quite throughout the hotel which allowed me to get a good nights rest. The breakfast was fair. We did have to heat up a couple of items, but the food was still good and held me over until lunch. The front desk staff was very friendly, with great southern hospitality. The guests were also wonderful and very friendly and we had a great time talking to everyone there in passing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area looking for a nice, relaxing evening. There is also some wonderful "country" scenery and the hotel is located close to Renfro Valley, which I believe has some country &/or gospel music shows. I am certain I will stay here again in the future. Note: I only rated the fitness center and restaurant as "average" because I'm not sure if they have one, as I did not look for one or need to use it. Thanks for a great stay! ---Barb

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. We take great effort to keep our hotel clean and to show our guests how much we want them to feel like family. I am so happy that you experienced our hospitality and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times, rooms are clean, people are friendly and really if you are going to Renfro Valley it is the only decent hotel in the area. We are so spoiled by Hampton. I did not go down for the breakfast, but my husband everything had to be heated. Where at most hotels we stay at it is already heated. The one thing that really concerned me was the lack of concern when we mentioned teenagers running up and down the halls, it was like sorry deal with it, not in those words but sorry I did not see anything or hear anything. When several rooms were complaining at the same time. Other than those things, it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again. I am very happy that you experienced our cleanliness and hospitality. Unfortunately, there was a medical emergency, during your stay, and a child did run for help. I apologize for any inconvenience, we make every effort to insure our guests have a quiet and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel or even this chain of hotels. I stayed on 6/26/14. The location of the hotel was very relaxing. My room overlooked a huge field. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and made you feel welcome. The gentleman in maint. was extremely helpful in trying to fix the issue with the TV. The room was good size and very clean. Might have needed an update or two but for the price it was great! The only disappointment I had was the breakfast. Everyone in the reviews that I read were very positive about the breakfast. I travel every week for my job and this was the first time I ever encountered this type of breakfast. I am not saying it was good or bad ( because I didn't eat it ). But the scrambled eggs and the sausage were frozen discs and you had to put them in a micro wave to have breakfast. This was just something that I wasn't use to. The breakfast area was very clean and organized but I wasn't impressed with the frozen food. But the hotel and staff were really nice and I would be back ( though I would go elsewhere for breakfast ). Thanks for a good stay.
Bob ( Ohio )

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us.
We strive for our guests to feel like family and I am glad you experienced that hospitality while staying at National Heritage Inn.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was planning a trip to Northwest Ohio and needed a place to stop and crash halfway. I found this hotel on Mapquest, and read excellent reviews and so I decided to book this hotel. I am glad I did! This is an excellent hotel for a great price. It was clean and the free breakfast had a wide variety to choose from. They had an outdoor pool...a rarity these days...and it was clean and pristine. Most of all, I enjoyed the friendly staff. Everyone from the front desk to the kitchen to housekeeping was so warm and friendly. They sincerely seemed to appreciate that me and my 2 year old daughter were staying there. They doted on my daughter while we were there, and her stuffed kitty. I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel that welcoming...and when you are traveling solo with a toddler, that is much needed! We felt safe and comfortable during our stay. Even the other patrons were extremely sweet and kind...there was a bus of seniors that were staying there, so of course, my little girl got a lot of extra attention from them! I liked it so much, that I booked the hotel so that we could stay there on the way back from Ohio as well. Next time we travel to Ohio, we will be sure to stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want the AAA discount, be sure to call the hotel...you can't get it if you book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! And thank you for staying with us.
It was impossible not to dote on your daughter. You were both very sweet guests.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon - Renfro Valley
13.4 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 8 in Berea
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Renfro Valley
Econo Lodge Renfro Valley
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington Berea
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn London-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Heritage Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Heritage Inn and Suites

Address: 2090 Richmond Street, I-75 & U.S. 25, Exit 62, Mount Vernon, KY 40456 (Formerly Renfro Valley Heritage Inn And Suites)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — National Heritage Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handy family has been providing southern hospitality to guests for over 4 generations. The National Heritage Inn and Suites, located next to the Renfro Valley Entertainment Center, continues the tradition of offering clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your National Heritage Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Heritage Hotel Mount Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Heritage Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.