We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Warden” 1 of 5 stars
Review of National Heritage Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added National Heritage Inn and Suites to your Saves list
National Heritage Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 Richmond Street, I-75 & U.S. 25, Exit 62, Mount Vernon, KY 40456 (Formerly Renfro Valley Heritage Inn And Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
KY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast Warden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the second year that my family and I have stayed here during the 4th of July holiday. We enjoyed ourselves so much last year that we decided to return again this year. Our rooms were nice and everything was great until time for breakfast. We were given tickets for breakfast when we checked in. My grandson is 14 and I was given an adult ticket for him when I checked in. He came down after the rest of the family was already having breakfast and was turned away by the attendant in the room. I went after him and when we returned she informed me that I had the wrong ticket. I told her that I had paid for him as an adult when I rented the room and she said I would have to go to the front desk and have "child" written on the ticket. We did that and she then allowed him to enter the room to eat. While we were eating, this occured to other families as well. We even witnessed her bar a man from the room because he only wanted a cup of coffee and did not want to eat even though he had a ticket, she made the remark that his wife could bring him a cup of coffee because she was inside eating. All this played out in front of us without any regard to good customer service. I was very disappointed. I understand having someone oversee the room, but not to the extent that it was taken. It may not matter much to you, but because of your "Breakfast Warden's" overly rude behavior you may lose some customers. We had planned on returning next year, but will probably not return now.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I apologize for any problems you encountered during your visit with us.
We have taken your thoughts into consideration, and on the few days per year that we have to use a voucher or ticketing method for obtaining breakfast, the system has been revamped. Your feedback is very important to us, and will help us improve our business.
We value you and ask you to return and give us a second chance.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have an annual reunion every year, we are a small group of 7 veterans of the viet nam war, our spouses go with us and sometimes our children and grandchildren come with us. This year was my year to sponser it and i had been looking for a different place to have it. I had been wanting to check out Renfro Valley, Kentucky and went there to see if it was a good place to have one. I stopped in at the Heritage Inn and the staff at the front desk were so polite and informative of the area and really wanted our business that we booked our reunion right then for 2 months later. Our group comes from 5 different states and the location of the Heritage Inn right off of I-75 was pretty much a central connection for everyone! When we did check in this past week-end the staff went over and beyond the call kindness. They welcomed each and everyone of us and was delighted to have us. We as a group have never been treated as good as they did, they even made a cake for our group in the shape and color of an American flag. Our week-end was a total success and mainly due to the kindness of the staff at the Heritage Inn. Our group liked it so much that we have already booked next years re-union there. The entertainment that was close by was also very, very good. We all had an awesome week-end at the Heritage Inn Renfro Valley, ky the rooms were spacious and clean, the hotel is well maintained, but the staff was the best ever!! A very special thank-you to C.J. @ Cathy you too are fantastic and we love you for what ya'll did... See ya next year!!

Room Tip: Higher Floors are quieter from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review! We loved having the veterans and their families with us and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We went to Mt Vernon for a wedding and were told this was the place to stay. The recommendation we got was spot on. The rooms are clean, pretty much up to date, and the staff hospitality is fantastic. The breakfast was good (not gourmet, but not expected to be either). Many of the hotel chains could take a lesson from this one on how to deliver an experience that leaves you feeling like you got good value for your money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a treat having all the wedding guests stay at the hotel! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed on the weekend of May 19th. It was recently updated so everything was nice and clean. The room was clean and quiet but for the price there was no refrigerator or microwave. The do let you know how many towels are in the room,(sign on mirror), so don't take them or they will charge you for them!!!!!! LOL.

Room Tip: bring a cooler for cold drinks in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Heritage Inn was conveniently close to the highway, a huge plus for road trippers like us just headed through the area for the evening.

The hotel manager stayed up really late (1 a.m.) just to check us in; of course, we told them at the reservation that we'd be arriving really late. It seemed to be no problem, so we appreciated that.

Complimentary breakfast in the morning was a big plus. Would recommend to any travelers in need of a clean bed, a hot shower, and a free breakfast.

Tip: make a reservation, even if you're just traveling through. We think we were the very last people to get a room, and we were really glad we reserved ahead of time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you choosing us for your hotel stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We live in Northern Virginia and stayed at National Heritage Inn on a sad occassion during funeral services for my Dad. The staff were aware of our bereavement stay and most gracious, accommodating, cheerful, welcomed us like "being home," courteous, helpful, customer service oriented, and most professional. Each individual made our stay pleasant during a difficult time, always willing to help and answer questions and provided service with a smile. The Inn is clean and well maintained. The breakfast included various selections and the biscuits & gravy are delicious. We sincerely thank all the staff and appreciate all they did for us during our stay. We would most certainly visit again and on a happier occassion. Highly recommended and is walking distance to Renfro Valley.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate the opportunity to provide service during such a diffcult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was our first experience with this motel and we will be definatly staying here everytime my tour group visits Renfro Valley. CJ and her staff were very accommadating after we had a sickness and a accident within our group. They went out of their way to see that they were taken care of and even showed concern after we arrived home. Their kindness and hospitality were way beyond what was expected. More hotels need to see how they do thing there in Renfro Valley. Great job!

Room Tip: Great hospitality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHI_Manager, Group Sales at National Heritage Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We were happy to do anything we could to help your group! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National Heritage Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Heritage Inn and Suites

Address: 2090 Richmond Street, I-75 & U.S. 25, Exit 62, Mount Vernon, KY 40456 (Formerly Renfro Valley Heritage Inn And Suites)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — National Heritage Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handy family has been providing southern hospitality to guests for over 4 generations. The National Heritage Inn and Suites, located next to the Renfro Valley Entertainment Center, continues the tradition of offering clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your National Heritage Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Heritage Hotel Mount Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Heritage Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.