We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downward Spiral” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Finca

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Finca
234 East Main Street, Morehead, KY 40351-1620
606 784 1178
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Morehead
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Downward Spiral”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

La Finca was an awesome hangout back when I was in college. The food was delicious and the super-friendly wait staff treated you like family. My wife and I returned to Morehead for the Homecoming football game last fall and thought we would try La Finca since it had been several years. It seemed like the owner/management had changed and the wait staff was all different. Our waiter brought us cold, inedible chips that were so hard they'd break your teeth. The salsa was bland and watery as was the queso we ordered for the chips. The food, which used to be delicious and delivered quickly, took 45 minutes to arrive and was cold and flavorless. We were incredibly disappointed that our favorite eatery in college had been reduced to a pale imitation of its former glory. Here's to hoping that La Finca gets its act together, but for now, we will not return when we visit campus in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great place in downtown Morehead.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I met a friend and her family for dinner. The waiter seated us had our drink order and brought chips and salsa in the first 5 minutes. I was already impressed before the meals came, but beyond impressed after my first bite. Everything ordered was perfect and the bill for 5 people was under $40. Great food, exceptional service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Road Trip Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stopped here on our way back from a trip to West Virginia visiting family. After a hurried and stressful trip, it was nice to be able to find this spot and enjoy an icy cold margarita. Don't worry. I wasn't driving!

Location was a bit off the highway but easy to locate even at night. The food was average. Not memorable by any means but decent. Service, however, was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome authentic mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I eat here every time I am in town and love it, the food is great and would highly recommend, the only complaint I have is I always have to ask the waiter for my check. The free chips and salsa are very good and they are great about keeping your drinks full

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food was very good but two of the 4 orders were wrong. Be careful if you order by number because there are variations based on lunch menu or if it is a full entree. Our guests were okay with their incorrect orders so we did not reorder. The resurant has a large selection. Because this town is restrictive on alcohol sales make sure you check to see it the restaurant can serve alcohol. On Sunday it can not be served before 1:30 PM.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finca also viewed

 

Been to La Finca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.